1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Analogue or Digital

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Mr THX, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    Evening Guys.......

    Just wanted to ask which would be the prefered method of connection for stereo sound (Music CD's).......??

    Arcam FMJ DV27a > TAG AV32R-bp192 > Parasound 1205a > ProAc Response 1.5D

    Do I go digital (Nordost Silver Shadow Digital Cable) letting the TAG DAC's do the work...............

    Or Analogue (Nordost Red Dawn Stereo Pair) using the 5.1 Bypass I have on the TAG leaving the Arcam to sort it all out.

    Just in the process of upgrading the cables so thought I'd ask the experts........ :smashin:

    Cheers.
     
  2. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I'd let the TAG do the work........
     
  3. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wrong
    I'd let your ears do the work and decide what you like more!
    Everything else is wrong
     
  4. PhilB1234

    PhilB1234
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    By letting the Tag do the work you'd also be avoiding one stage of A to D, then D to A conversion. I'd therefore be more confident of good results that way..... but personal taste may lean you towards the more processed way!
    The good thing is it's easy to do an A/B comparison by connecting both at the same time.
    You'd also have to have the digital connection set-up for films, so why not save money (on analogue interconnects) and go for the simpler set-up (just one connection - digital)? You could put the saving towards a DP upgrade........
     
  5. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Being purely practical there is not a lot of point in using rhe 5.1 bypass on the TAG. The chap has bought an expensive processor with some very nice integration touches, it would be a shame to waste it and turn it into a very expensive volume knob......The Arcam analogue output stage is OK but you have to ask yourself where the money has been spent and it almost certainly is best to use a dedicated processor not the things added to a DVD player to make it more pluggable to cheaper kit..... Like Plasma internal scaling really....

    Each to his own..... Of course some of us have measured the Arcam and compared it with the TAG output but then we get into the discussion of "if you can/can't measure it you can/can't hear it".....

    One digital cable is cheaper than 5 analogue ones might be the clincher ;)
     
  6. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Phil types faster...... :D
     
  7. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    TAG with TMS :thumbsup:

    I listen to ALL my CDs with TMS these days as (to my ears) it sounds a lot "better", especially with the centre and sub
     
  8. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    Cheers for the responses guys.............

    Always try Plump but on this occasion I can't source both cables to try the preverbial 'shoot out' . Main point of my post was to try and gauge whether one or the other option was a big no - no.

    Cheers for that Phil, a point I'd not thought of.

    The issue of Bypass is a little frustration as I havent been able to use the sub with music :confused:

    As a matter of interest is there as much noticable improvement when upgrading interconnects between Tag and amp as there is when upgrading cable between player and Tag - Just a thought I'm running with five lenghts of Solar Wind at the mo and didn't know what kind of improvement can be gained IYKWIM. I know its all in the same chain etc....etc....
     
  9. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Ah the realms of snake oil etc...... Any cable that does what it is designed to do will suffice.... i.e. what goes into it comes out unmodified...... Marketing then takes over.....
     
  10. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Im with Graham on this one :) There are very few if any cables that measure much better than the Belden range terminated with Canare crimp connectors. You can get them from Mark Grant here on the forum :smashin:
     
  11. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I'll bet Johann is happy with all those Nordost sales though. :laugh:

    Reading the spec's for all our original design cables is a real eye-opener, a lot have Belden as the original supplier......
     
  12. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Ye, it would be quite interesting to find out how many mainstream cable manufacturers are just Belden wrapped up in fancy dress :D
     
  13. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    Johnann................????
     
  14. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    The very nice Nordost lady who used to be the very nice TAG lady (many moons ago now)
     
  15. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    All the decent ones maybe ;) The BBC knew what they were doing when they wrote and developed design specs....
     
  16. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    I preferred the sound of my system using a digital connection between the DV27 and the TAG processor, while I had one, also prefer the digital connection with the Krell... :smashin:

    About cables, either these guys have a perfect environment or they are deaf, cables do make a difference, but the most expensive aren´t always better... :p

    I use Apogee wideeye digital cable, the best sounding I tried on my system, several friends also use it, it is not expensive, US$50... :rolleyes:
     
  17. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Hiya Antonio.
    I knew someone would bite.....

    Badly made and using poor cable spec will of course make a difference, we all agree on that but using the proper spec cable for the signal transfer required with properly terminated ends with connectors that match the impedance required is all anyone ever ever needs if you want a faithful transfer. Of course if you don't want a faithful transfer there are plently of marketing types willing to take people's money.
    Steve makes a good point on another thread about price however, what costs a few pounds (say £20ish) to make will cost considerably more after dealer/manufacturing/marketing get their hands on it( probably well over £100)..... Everyone has to make money so please don't think that because I would make my own out of proper components they would be in any way worse than something bought off the shelf for a great deal more. A decent Belden cable and Canare RCA's is about as good as it gets regardless of what people may pay.....
     
  18. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Graham, I miss our heated arguments on TAG´s forum, plus Glenn... ;)

    I cannot refute that, as I never tested Belden cable with Canare RCA´s on my system, but I did test Belden PCs, properly terminated, and they made my system sound much worst than with VDH Mainsstreams, Eupen and other PCs... :rolleyes:
     
  19. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

    I can't deny that you "like" the "sound" of your particular cables give your system, myself I prefer transparency :D :D
    Anyone that buys cables to "tame" "bright" systems or "smooth" bass or "deepen" midrange have missed the point.....
    Each to his own........ Where is Glenn when you need him... :lease:
     
  20. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    My, my, my... :suicide:

    Who is using cables to tame, smooth or deepen... :nono:

    On the contrary, my cables are the ones, I tested, that did let more info through, excluding RFI and other rubish, of course... :smashin:
     
  21. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    lowrider
    As a matter of interest what is/are the '(w/Stillpoints supports + ERS) that you use with the Arcam ??
     
  22. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    See this link:

    I use their supports under the Arcam and the BelCanto, and ERS inside the Arcam, under the Krell and around the wall end of the power bar PC...

    I also use one Van Den Hul Mainsstream PC on the Arcam, almost all my friends that heard it bought the same PC and ERS for their players... Some also bought Ceraball supports, as Stillpoints are a bit expensive... :rolleyes:
     
  23. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    Good Grief...... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: We will be in Peter Belt territory if we are not careful... ;)

    BTW, if your cables test transparent (on test gear not hi-fi!) then that is fine with me, if they don't, well you know what I think :D
     
  24. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
    I used my ears to test them, so I wouldnt know how they do on test gear, and I really dont care... :devil:

    But the Apogee are professional kit and VDH is known for its good engineering and not beeing too expensive, also their PCs have done quite well in some comparison tests, particularly regarding value for money, so they shouldnt disapoint even an ilustrious engineer like you... :hiya:
     
  25. Nuno Santos

    Nuno Santos
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +3
    I think it's a bit hard to decide which one is responsible for the transparency we crave. Where's the reference? So, as stated from most, as long as we like what we hear and find the sound of a system using a particular cable to be "transparent", then, that's the one.
    I also found that the VDH PC worked best on my TMA system comparing with the original PC's. I tried the same PC with a few other systems and usually ther results are similar, so I think it's a well engineered cable.

    NS
     
  26. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, my experience with VDH Mainsstream PC's was almost "pornographic"…

    I must say that I was a sceptical so you can picture my astonished face when I plugged this PC to the AV32. Never a cable introduced so many benefits like this VDH PC and I must note that by cable of course I also include speaker and IC.

    All the frequencies benefited but the highs improved with an extension and clarity almost unbelievable.

    Now I have this PC's everywhere… I'm considering one for my shaving machine…:D

    I must also say that this is not an universal recipe, power cable's can produce different effects (or none) on different systems so it's a must to try first.
     
  27. Mr THX

    Mr THX
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Barnsley
    Ratings:
    +31
    mlinhares
    Can you post a link to the said VDH PC............. I'm interested to what one could do for my AV32 :thumbsup:
     
  28. lowrider

    lowrider
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Riga, Latvia
    Ratings:
    +1
  29. mlinhares

    mlinhares
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mr Thx, try it first before you buy.
     
  30. joust

    joust
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    868
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Basildon, Essex
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hi guys,

    I'm looking to get into the TAG world in the near future, but may only be able to afford a standard 96Khz DAC version. Based on one of these, would the opinions still be the same (I would be feeding it from an Arcam DV88)?

    Cheers

    Joust
     

Share This Page

Loading...