1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Analogue or Digital?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Tones, Oct 11, 2004.

  1. Tones

    Tones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking to buy a 50 hz 28" widescreen sony, but I'm struggling to decide between analogue and digital, as I already have a sony freeview box. Should I buy an analogue set...maybe the likes of a sony KV-28HX15 or should I go for a digital set KD-28DL11. I realise if I choose analogue my set top box will be using up a scart connection and there would be an extra box on show. I also realise that the (more than likely)one and only rgb scart connection would be getting used...are scart splitters any good? If anybody out there could point me in the right direction.....it would be most appreciated.
     
  2. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Tones,

    Welcome to the Forum. :thumbsup:

    What's the price difference, please?

    (Always a factor in my thinking!)
     
  3. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    It is a no brainer - the Sony IDTV tuner is one of the best DTTV tuners there are! :thumbsup:
     
  4. Tones

    Tones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I'm thinking of a figure about £400 - £450 ish
    any suggestions?
     
  5. mrtbag

    mrtbag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Anywhere I want
    Ratings:
    +395
  6. Tones

    Tones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +0
    How does the interface for channel selection compare with the interface on the Sony set top box? Does the KD-28DL11 interface show the current channel selected while navigating the channel menu?
     
  7. Tones

    Tones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +0
    KV-28HX15 £379 @ totaldigital £20 p&p
    KD-28DL11 £395 @ totaldigital £20 p&p
     
  8. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you talking about the electronic program guide? If you are, the DL11's EPG is very similar to that of the VTXD800 set-top and does not show the current channel in a quarter screen window. That was a feature of previous (second generation) Sony IDTVs such as the 28DL10 and 28DX50. It is very easy to use however.
     
  9. Tones

    Tones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I was talking about the epg, I've been trying to see the KD-28DL11 in use...but whenever I go in to a store and ask for a demostation. The reply I get is the aerial isnt up to it!! What I'm struggling to understand is the price of the KV-28HX15, for an analogue set its not much less than the 28DL11. Why is this, should I be wary of entry level IDTV? What would you recommend analogue or digital. Thanks
     
  10. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    That I don't know because mine is nearly 5 years old and still works perfectly. (IDTV1)

    As to channel menu - um well it works on Digital like an Analogue TV.
     
  11. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    The digital hardware is now not that expensive, also Sony in the UK are VERY geared up to making IDTVs.

    My DX20 was £200 more than the FX20 but was also better equiped (3 Scart rather than 2) however the alternative was an Ondigital box - now they were bad :laugh:

    I think Sony will be dropping obsolete TVs in the UK very soon - I think they will be first to be all IDTV for 16x9.
     
  12. timbo_bobcat

    timbo_bobcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may be true, I've no idea, but note that the non-IDTV mentioned here (the KV28HX15, which I have) is a brand new model in the last month or so.
     
  13. mildred

    mildred
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would go for an analogue only TV.

    The IDTV's are a compromise of both formats, and the IDTV's in particular are often poorly supported due to lack of firmware upgrades.

    STB's are easily replaced/upgradable, and often have more features than IDTV's.

    Never put all your eggs in one basket. :D
     
  14. timbo_bobcat

    timbo_bobcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    As my grandma used to say, "it's something else to go wrong"! :)
     
  15. Tones

    Tones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +0
    My original choice was to go analogue but I got a bit concerned because my set top box would be (potentially) using the only rgb scart! Where would my dvd be connected.......scart splitter to the rgb scart? Then I thought about how I would have an extra box and wires, extra remote!!! I'm really not sure which tv to buy...I've finally have a good look at the Sony KD-28DL11, it looks good but I'm not convinced by the audio only being 5 wattts per channel.
     
  16. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try John Lewis, that's where I usually 'test drive' new IDTVs
    Having owned both analogue TVs, set-tops and an IDTV I would strongly recommend the IDTV. There are absolutely NO advantages to an analogue-only TV when the cost difference is as little as it is now. Comments by other forum users about 'eggs in baskets' and 'badly supported firmware' are superficially correct but actually irrelevant. Sony support their firmware at least as well as any of the box makers out there and better than most. Even my first generation IDTV receives digital channels as well any box and I let my Humax PVR do the processor intensive digital text stuff because the hardware inside it is so much newer. If you buy an good IDTV today it'll perform as well as any set-top and give you less hassle than having an extra box / remote/ plug / user interface / scart lead in your set-up.
     
  17. TV Headache

    TV Headache
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    242
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Power doesn't tell the whole story when it comes to TV audio because there are several other variables. Having said that, you're never going to get great audio from an inexpensive TV these days, so might be worth thinking about external amplification if good sound is important to you.
     
  18. Tones

    Tones
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you familiar with the Sony KD-28DL11, I finally got to have a look at it tonight in Powerhouse..I think it was! It seemed quite good apart from the sound...I didn't think it was powerful enough. I've since checked on sonys website and according to the specifications its only 5 watts per channel. This seems rather low, especially for a 28" set.....most other 28" sets seem to be 7 or 10 watts p/c. Which 28" IDTVs would you recommend? I'm on a budget, so I have to be careful its the reason why the DL11 caught my eye. I think it makes good sense what you were saying about buying an IDTV but at times I feel like a headless chicken as I know very little about the potential pit falls involved.

    Thanks
     
  19. mildred

    mildred
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The first thing to suffer with all budget low spec TV's is the sound quality.

    It's no different with budget micro/midi systems.

    I think the manufacturers must be thinking that if you can only afford a cheap TV, then you won't be concerned about sound quality.
     
  20. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Again Sony do support their IDTVs well - mine is nearly 5 years old so don't go on about reliability or failing.

    As to sound - I suggest routing via your AV system or hifi - but this will be enough power to listen to TV.

    In all honesty being able to just turn on TV and watch an anamorphic widescreen picture is great.

    Boxes are a PITA unless they are recorders as well
     
  21. mrtbag

    mrtbag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Anywhere I want
    Ratings:
    +395
    The sound would be completely different in your front room, as compared to in a shop. But as stated above, for best results, run through an AV system of some kind.
     
  22. JohnW14

    JohnW14
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    77
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I should first state I know nothing about Sony IDTV - only my Toshiba IDTV. While I prefer the idea of an all in one with fewer remote controls and fewer cables, the Toshiba (and only others can advise whether this is so of Sonys) will only output a composite signal to a VCR/DVD Recorder.

    Also if you wish to record a digital channel while you're away for the weekend, you have to leave the set on Standby.

    Had I known the above when I was buying, I think I would have gone for a separate digital box with RGB output and a timer.
     
  23. timbo_bobcat

    timbo_bobcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you subscribe to Sky or Cable, is an IDTV of any benefit?
     
  24. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Yes - you can watch BBC1,2,3,4 ect in better quality
     
  25. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    You need either a Twin or a 8000T

    They record on HDD then archive to DVD
     
  26. mrtbag

    mrtbag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Anywhere I want
    Ratings:
    +395
    IDTV better quality than sky or cable? Surely this would only be true if they are analogue.
     
  27. timbo_bobcat

    timbo_bobcat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    We have Telewest digital cable.

    Martin, Are you saying that the picture quality on BBC1 (say) is better on Freeview via an IDTV tuner than through the Telewest box?

    The reply I was half expecting was that with an IDTV I could video on (say) BBC3 whilst watching (say) Sky One, which I can't do at the moment.
     
  28. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Well the Sony IDTVs appear to have a very good picture and Freeview seems to get the best bit rates - also the Sony tuner handles mosquito noise quite well.

    100Hz and digital processing TVs make MPEG artifacts appear worse a plain 50Hz TV is much more real - I hvae never seen Sky look as good as a good DTTV signal - but that may be that Wega tubes are just good.

    However head to head the IDTV1 tuner in the TV blew away an Ondigital box.

    But I can tell if the TV is on its own tuner or using the Twin - there is a fraction more detail in hair ect
     
  29. MartinImber

    MartinImber
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    3,851
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +21
    Freeview tends to get better bit rates

    Top end Freeview tuners tend to decode better - eg the Sony IDTV tuner is definately top end - the Twin I have is better than an old Ondigital box
     
  30. Contact

    Contact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...