• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

An all in one system for a newbie

SmudgerDan

Standard Member
Hi AV friends ,

I am a complete Media newbie and so would like your help selecting a suitable Home Cinema system for my lounge.

I have recently bought a Samsung PS50B530S2 which I am yet to set up due to the house I have bought currently being renovated. What I am after though is a good all on one cinema system to overcome the well known poor Samsung sound quality which incorporates the following;

• 5.1 Audio - (DTS, Dolby True HD and DTS-HD preferably)
  • Blu Ray Player
  • 1080P upscaling
  • Connectivity for Sky HD, Xbox 360 and option for a further device at a later date
  • DIVX playback
  • On Screen Display
Im not adverse to buying an AV receiver separately with a Blu Ray player but im trying to keep the system down to around the £400 mark.

I have used the search function but there is so many different opinions, options etc that its difficult to make a valid judgement. Some systems offer much more than i will other need and others excel in some area's but not in others. I ideally need a system which satisfies the above but with the best sound and picture quality for the money

I know this is quite a difficult task but any help or advice would be appreciated:smashin:.

Dan

Last edited:

UncleBaz

Standard Member
Hi smudger,

I am also a newbie in all in one systems but opted to buy a Sony BDV-E300 the other week and have to admit it is awesome. It basically does everything I need it to. I chose this system so I could hook up my 40W5500 via Bravia link and this works perfectly. I also have a PS3 and Virgin (standard) box hooked up.