1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMW Pal/Ntsc progressive DVD audio player £45 delivered.

Discussion in 'Shopping, Deals, Discounts & Bargains' started by bonzobanana, Feb 22, 2004.

  1. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    Available from dabs here;

    http://www.dabs.com/uk/productView.htm?quicklinx=2X3B


    Some info on it here;

    http://translate.google.com/transla...l+%22dvd+audio%22&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8

    Multiregion hack info etc here;

    http://www.nevatech.co.uk/ronin-support-website/pages/amwp80l.htm

    No full reviews on the internet that I have found but the feb issue of What video carried a review but its not accessible from their website yet (www.electrictown.co.uk). They claimed the price of the player in the review was £90.

    The player is based on the same chipset as the Compacks DVD5000 but has added functionality.

    The important features are;

    PAL and NTSC progressive scan with a large amount of adjustment allowed to tailor it to your equipment.

    The 5.1 decoder features dd, dts, 5.1 matrix options (not sure if its full on dp2 or just a virtual surround clone of it) plus full range DVD audio. It also has optical and coaxial output sockets.

    Its compatible with a wide range of formats.

    The dvd loader is meant to be very good both fast and very compatible with media.

    The What Video review states no RGB scart output where as other sources says it has. So don't know what the end verdict is.

    Would probably be an excellent pairing with these 5.1 headphones.

    http://www.afterhours.co.uk/Shop/51head.htm

    This shop is run for the benefit of a neuro rehabilitation unit so you'd also be helping an excellent cause.
     
  2. wackyraces

    wackyraces
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +10
  3. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    Those full specs don't mention dvd audio or dvd audio capble sound resolution. Yet the german site listed does and what video claimed to have reviewed its dvd audio output with pleasing results. I can only guess a-mw's own spec sheet is out of date slightly.
     
  4. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    It's a very nice looking player. I ordered one on Tuesday and it arrived Wednesday. Not bad considering I paid for std delivery.:D

    The O/S menu has settings for DVD Audio so it is supported. I don't yet have a disc to test it with though. The component output produced a picture equal to that of my Toshiba 330 during a quick test last night. This players has more setting menus than I've ever seen before, you can tweak nearly everything. The inside of the unit is extremely neat and the quality of construction looks just about as good as any circuits I've encountered ( I am in Avionics Manufacturing). The multi region mod was pretty straightforward thanks to the above post.:smashin: I tried regions 1 , 2, 4 without problems and an RCE disc. I will do some proper testing with all supported formats this weekend.

    All in all a very competent player so far and stunning to look at for the silly price.

    Cheers Mylo
    :smoke:
     
  5. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    Does it have RGB scart output? How does the dvd drive cope with poor dvds, copies etc (if you have any). How does it cope with low bit rate images like vcds,svcds, single layer dvds compared to the Toshiba?

    Can you make use of the progressive image and if so is there any ghosting? Some over sharpened dvd transfers and low bit rate dvds (mpeg compression artifact) have ghosting anyway so you need to test using something like a superbit dvd.

    Does sound like a brilliant player for the money. One last question how many picture controls relate to progressive component output and what are they?
     
  6. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    The picture controls consisted of the normal spectrum of tv controls, ie. colour, brightness etc. There are more but I left the book at home. The prog scan can be activated with one button from the remote. I tried a brief test using an NTSC disc last night but my 32zd26p did not like it and blue screened. I just tried a DVD-R heavily compressed film on it and the image quality is superb. I am currently using an old broacast quality monitor for testing (no prog scan). It has S video, composite, component and IIRC RGB scart.

    Mylo:smoke:
     
  7. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    So you've tested rgb scart on it?
     
  8. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    not yet I'm afraid, just component. That will betonight. I did read the book briefly though to get the details.
     
  9. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    VCD now tested with good results.
     
  10. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +218
    Any luck with this mylo? I'm a bit confused by this as you said in an ealier thread you had tested r1.

    My mums birthday is in a month and I've promised her a dvd player...just go to find the cheapest MR one now :D

    Jus
     
  11. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Sorry Jus, for not being clearer, I blue screened it on Prog Scan using an NTSC disc. Every thing else I've chucked at it has been superb. It will definitely have Mum approval; it is full width but only 58mm high. The mirror front and hidden display look the dogs. The remote is well laid out and nicely styled.

    Cheers, Mylo:smoke:
     
  12. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,174
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +218
    Smart. Cheers mate. My mums 15 year old telly doesn't have component so I'm not too interest in that. Not sure if my mum wants some dog's b's in her living room thu :D

    Thanks.

    Jus.
     
  13. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just bought one of these to tide me over till my baby(arcam dv88+) comes back. then will either put it in another room or keap it for dvd audio.
     
  14. sapgem

    sapgem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    83
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bit confused - does this player have DVD-audio support?

    The specs seem to say no, but some of the comments above say yes.
     
  15. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +219
    I think there is some confusion as I believe early versions didn't support dvd audio but the later/current models sold do. I suspect even the early ones will support it with a updated firmware anyway. The What Video review clearly states dvd audio tested on this model.

    www.cosmic450.com has some info on this model related to firmware on this model which is interesting.
     
  16. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    According to the osd it definately does DVD Audio, you have a preference choice between audio & video in the setup menu.


    bonzobanana, I hooked up the scart lead tonight, the results were pretty damn good.
    This was only a quick setup with the scart lead being with a nest of other cables. I would say the component was a better conection, but with more setup time I think it would be equally as good.
    Just need to buy some DVD audio now, after I build some new interconnects.

    Cheers, Mylo:smoke:
     
  17. franc

    franc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Mylo.
    Do you have a copy of The Matrix? This disc causes problems on alot of the cheaper players in respect of the branching/white rabbit feature.
    On some players it causes audio dropouts. If you have the movie and would care to test it for me, I would greatly appreciate it.
    If it plays ok then I will have to join you and nab one of these.

    Look forward to your reply

    regards FRANC
     
  18. kenlong69

    kenlong69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Doha
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hey all,

    I just orderd one of these as a DVD-A and SCVD player... great value! Does anyone know if it plays SACD? I doubt it but hell, it plays just about everything else!

    Ken
     
  19. ebury

    ebury
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +12
    Does anybody know if this model has the macrovision protection turned off??
    as i am sure i have read this somewhere on the net!!
     
  20. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    FRANC, I got hold of a copy of Matrix. The bunny rabbit test ran well. I saw the bunny pushed play and up came the special bit. There was a black screen for a couple of seconds at the end then the feature started again. Audio was fine. Only did one bunny as I hate that film.;)


    Ebury, how do I test this for you?
     
  21. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mylo

    cheers for help earlier today, its worth £45 just to have a jpeg viewer on my plasma:D :D :D
     
  22. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    My pleasure bruv. Cool little machine isn't it. Dilema time now for me, which is the No 1 machine, the AMW or my Tosh 330 ?
    Have you tested the Pscan ?
    Cheers, Mylo


    PS, anyone else that gets one now, try the last handset hack from the link above to get multi region.:lesson: If they are the same batch, that will unlock them all (hopefully :D )
     
  23. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    this year i will only be wearing prog scan:D :D :D

    yes i have it on prog scan, the picture quality is very respectable for £45 or even a few times that. my arcam as you would expect is better more detail. i havent bothered using the picture settings on the dvd player, it is nice that you get a full array of settings.

    when my arcam comes back that will over the component imputs on my plasma and this player will go interlased into iscan ultra.

    might hook up the dvd audio aswell:D :D :D would have to buy some then i suppose:( :( :( .

    for £45 anyone would be well happy with this player
     
  24. Drew C

    Drew C
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is this player really as good as a tosh 330?
    I stil have a tosh 2109, which I'm looking to upgrade when I get a new projector next month. I was thinking of getting a Harmon Kardon at £250, but would it really be worth all the extra money?
     
  25. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    In my setup yes it really is that good. My Dvd is connected using one of my 'homebrew' cables made of Broadcast studio cable and nickel plated plugs, mains is fed via a spike proof/filtered supply, hooked up to the component inputs of a Tosh 32ZD26P.


    Cheers, Mylo
     
  26. Drew C

    Drew C
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +2
    I wonder if a difference would be more noticable on a projector, seen as the picture is blown up a lot more.
     
  27. millec199

    millec199
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    I would also like an answer to this, as if the firmware needs updating it can lead to loss of component functionality (only in a small amount of cases, and they will replace it with an unmodded one), which would make this player useless for feeding a projector/plasma.

    If the handset hacks work I will defiantly buy this, but I don’t want to be left with a R2 player or a player that does not output progressive via component (I already have one of those).

    If anyone could help with this, I would be very grateful.
     
  28. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i could not get the firmware download hack to work.so with mylo`s advice tried the last hack and it works fine.

    should have tried these first ;) ;) ;) ;)
     
  29. millec199

    millec199
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for that.

    My Z1 arrives on monday so will see what the pic is like from Svideo from my Marantz 3100 and then my PC (could be turned into a HTPC, but it is very loud at the mo) and then decide if the dvd player is the way to go. I do like the idea of 1:1 pixel mapping, however I am broke after buying the Z1 can't afford much at the mo and this player is ideal.
     
  30. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +287
    Does this player have phono out for sound for the full 5.1 ?

    In other words, could I connect it to my amp other than via the digital output or stereo output?

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...