1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amstrad Sky + Boxes

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by adrian3221, Mar 8, 2004.

  1. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    YIPPEE!!! I've just got Sky+ installed!!!
    oh no. Its an Amstrad box. I'm scared to press any buttons on the thing in case it blows up. Anyone got any experience with this box? The Amstrad name doesnt exactly inspire confidence......
     
  2. morphy

    morphy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    amstrad box very very new so we dont really know yet, watch this space
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    The early Amstrad digiboxes were not outstanding however the later two models have been as good as anyothers.
    I expect the Amstrad sourced SKY+ to perform as well as the PACE models and not suffer from the "soft focus" that some version2 boxes do.

    From the picture I've seen there seems to be more passive ventilation, can you confirm that there are slots in the top surface and not an optical illusion?

    A bad reputation is easily gained and very hard to shift but the manufacturing facilites open to Amstrad will be state of the art and apart from the very high end AV gear components and designs are very much of a muchness:)
    Don't worry about it.
     
  4. adrian3221

    adrian3221
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +42
    Yeah, there is three ventilation blocks so that should prevent any overheating problems.
     
  5. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,846
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +833
    I just hope it's better than the original Amstrad digibox, which was nothing but a bag of bolts - fortunately, one of the Sky engineers who attended for a breakdown (one of many) agreed and managed to get me changed to a Panasonic.
     
  6. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a lot of discussion about this over on Digital Spy. Even has contributions from Sir Alan Sugar himself (allegedly!)

    Dave
     
  7. DTS Rocks !

    DTS Rocks !
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,i just had SKY+ installed,upgraded package,and my new digibox is an Amstrad,it says V.3 in the setup box.The picture quality seems sharper,better than normal SKY,and i have had a little play and must say i am pleased with,so far ! I can confirm it does have the three sets of ventilation channels.
     
  8. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +206
    it was roumered that is would have a larger hard drive than the panasonic box is this the case?

    what other features does it have that the panasonic box doesn't?
     
  9. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +206
    it looks exactly the same as the panasonic V2 boxes apart it looks like a mirror image all the buttons that were on one side are no on the other
     
  10. pentode

    pentode
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West London, UK
    Ratings:
    +4
    I think you mean the PACE boxes ! :D
     
  11. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Perhaps he knows a little secret:)
    Panasonic would be a welcome edition to the fold and I wouldn't be surprised if a third manufacturer came online at some point.
     
  12. DTS Rocks !

    DTS Rocks !
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,the SKY+ digibox i got is the Amstrad DRX180.It has the 40gb Hard-Drive.
     
  13. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +206
    quite right i ment pace
     
  14. Faust

    Faust
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30
    Does anyone know who or where for that matter the Pace Sky+ boxes are manufactured?? I believe that Pace sub contract this work out and do not make then in house. My money would be far east but that is only a guess.
     
  15. robjohn

    robjohn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    how do you check to see what size your hard drive is?
    I have one of the new amstrad boxes just installed today... A little but miffed that the man had to drill yet another hole through the wall. I now have 3 holes and cables running outside :-( nevermind pictures is much better as discussed earlier.
     
  16. Faust

    Faust
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,820
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30
    Why three ???
     
  17. robjohn

    robjohn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    i have a htpc in the same room with a sat card in it for HDTV :)
     
  18. DTS Rocks !

    DTS Rocks !
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    To check how big the hard drive is,i looked it up on the internet.
     
  19. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979


    Very nice :smashin:

    Hope to go a similar route in the near future although if SKY would annouce a HD channel or two you wouldn't see me for dust as I head to the nearest AV dealer.
     
  20. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    One of my mates would say "if ifs and ands were pots and pans" but I have no idea what that means.

    My line is "Only in your dreams", well for a good few years yet anyway.

    StooMonster
     
  21. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979

    Agreed.
    SKY are now in profit and will use that money to pay off it's debt and keep the share holders happy. Their technical ability is miles ahead of cable and comfortable when compared to DTT however SKY do see hardware advancment as a subscriber generator above lowering subscription prices. More advanced HD units and multi decoder boxes are the obvious next step but there can be not doubt that with the ever increasing sales of Plasma and LCD panels the UK needs a HD source, one that will generate revenue for a broadcaster brave enough to risk a few million on such an endeavour:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...