1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amps with HDMI/DVi switching??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by AML, Sep 15, 2004.

  1. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    When are new amps with HDMI/DVI switching coming out?

    I will eventualy need to conect more than 1 product using HDMI or DVI, and current DVi switch boxes cost as much as a decent amp.

    So, i want to get an amp that much like todays ones having component switching, will have DVi or HDMI switching.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10,791
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,145
    The Marantz SR8500 detailed in the press release above has DVI switching. I think that you would end up getting better milage from a video processor however.
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,976
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
  4. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Cheers! But i bet these switch boxes cost a ton right? So far the most affordable thing i ve seen is this:

    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/DVI_monitor_cables.html

    (scroll down a bit)

    Theres a HDMI and a DVI switch box, but they do cost a bit!
    And to be honest the DVI switcher has to many other unecesarys such as Opticals and other stuff i wouldnt use!

    Also, would i be loosing a lot of picture quality with something like this? I dont want it to filter anything out.

    Ive also seen a DVi Spliter cable, but it look cheap.:
    http://www.pacificcable.com/DVI.htm#DVI-D_Single_Link

    (again, scroll down till u find the DVi splitter!)
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Panny have some cheap entry level HDMI kit coming this autumn, DVD players and av amps amp will have probably 2 HDMI ins and one out.
     
  6. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,026
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +13
    Is there any more information on these Panasonic AV Amps ?

    Richie.
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    current ones have just one HDMI in one OUT (future ones will have more)
     
  8. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    Definatly look like there are aimed at the people with seriously deep pockets!! :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...