Amps with HDMI/DVi switching??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by AML, Sep 15, 2004.

  1. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    When are new amps with HDMI/DVI switching coming out?

    I will eventualy need to conect more than 1 product using HDMI or DVI, and current DVi switch boxes cost as much as a decent amp.

    So, i want to get an amp that much like todays ones having component switching, will have DVi or HDMI switching.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,231
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,723
    The Marantz SR8500 detailed in the press release above has DVI switching. I think that you would end up getting better milage from a video processor however.
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,058
  4. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,989
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +228
    Cheers! But i bet these switch boxes cost a ton right? So far the most affordable thing i ve seen is this:

    http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/DVI_monitor_cables.html

    (scroll down a bit)

    Theres a HDMI and a DVI switch box, but they do cost a bit!
    And to be honest the DVI switcher has to many other unecesarys such as Opticals and other stuff i wouldnt use!

    Also, would i be loosing a lot of picture quality with something like this? I dont want it to filter anything out.

    Ive also seen a DVi Spliter cable, but it look cheap.:
    http://www.pacificcable.com/DVI.htm#DVI-D_Single_Link

    (again, scroll down till u find the DVi splitter!)
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Panny have some cheap entry level HDMI kit coming this autumn, DVD players and av amps amp will have probably 2 HDMI ins and one out.
     
  6. richjthorpe

    richjthorpe
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,031
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    dat london
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any more information on these Panasonic AV Amps ?

    Richie.
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    current ones have just one HDMI in one OUT (future ones will have more)
     
  8. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +86
    Definatly look like there are aimed at the people with seriously deep pockets!! :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice