Amplifier v all in one streamer

Thanks for all this, my big problem is that I'm new to this and my current Panasonic pmx152 is advertised as 120 watts RMS so when I looked at the Marantz pm7000n it appears no more powerful.

I understand that manufacturers of systems such as my Panasonic aren't that honest about the specs such as watts power output. This why I was thinking of the Muso or CX81 solution.

Could you explain because I do like the look of the Marantz as it would enable me to spend a bit more on speakers.
As mentioned watt is not always important, it is the amplifier current that is important.

Some of the best amplifier only has 20 watts!

Depending if you have very efficient speakers, not so efficient speakers you probably need between 20-40 watts depending room size, sitting distance.

Still I’d go for amplifier between 50-100 watts.

You get more headroom if you have an amplifier that is more powerful.

And depending on which sound you like, then there are several options.

Marantz is very warm sounding. Rolled of treble. Midrange is tad forward but still relaxing to listen to in the long run, and the bass is fuller sounding then most amplifiers. Vocals particularly are stunning.

Denon, Arcam,Rega, Yamaha also remind a bit of Marantz but perhaps a tad more dynamic.

Cambridge, Rotel are probably the most neutral of the bunch.

Still I don’t you we’ll be disappointed if you buy the Powernode 2i. Stunning sound.

They are NAD sister company so they know what they are doing. Probably around 30 years experience, which Bluesound engineers have learned from the NAD-team.

Speaking of NAD, they have several amplifiers with build in streaming. Perhaps the most expensive amplifiers of the alternatives I’ve mentioned.