Amplifier/Speaker Confusion

B00mer00

Novice Member
Hi All

Being a total newbie to the Power Amp scene (I have to say this was all so much easier years ago) and looked at many many threads on this site and information available on google, I have found myself more confused than ever! I have acquired a set of Eltax Symphony 6.2’s and really love the sound that comes out of them - the trouble is I used a 15W sub from a 2.1 system to power them just for testing purposes and I don’t want to damage the speakers so now looking for a suitable power amp (preferably one with Bluetooth capabilities but that’s not overly important as I can get an adapter for that) but really confused on the minimum wattage to go for on the amp. I have attached the info I have on the speakers but from what I think I’ve established is the RMS wattage is more 100W than the 150 stated? I don’t know what the ‘Sinus Power’ means and if it needs to be factored into the overall power of the speaker? What confused me more than anything is when I was doing some research, the article I was reading stated that a 150W RMS speaker 4-8ohms could be powered by a 44 watt amp? What I really need to know is what specs on the amp should I be looking out for when choosing? I am going to go second hand on this and I don’t plan to have more than 1 set of speakers connected - it’s for music and not tv - although if I go for another setup with smaller speakers these will be designated to the tv - any simplistic advice would be very much appreciated :). Thank you for reading!

Attachments

• 5001220E-68B2-4335-A5DE-AAE13EB347FE.jpeg
    5001220E-68B2-4335-A5DE-AAE13EB347FE.jpeg
    371.9 KB · Views: 27

DT79

Hi All