• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Amplifier needed

Muggs

Standard Member
:hiya:

I recently bought two Eltax Galaxy 200w (each) floor standing speakers.

To make picture clear from the beginning, i just have the speakers, nothing, even i don't have cables to go with em.

I'm planning to add some extras like sub. rear and center speakers to go with 'em as well in the future, so that's why i would need a nice amplifier to cover all the power, and i would like to get the sound from the TV as well.

So i assumed i would need amplifier to cover at least with 600W. is that correct?

As you already might have noticed I'm a beginner with all this stuff so it would be much appreciated if someone would take some time and get me through the steps to help me get going.

i was looking around and found stuff like that. what do you think...

Auna 5.1 Surround Sound Receiver Hifi Amplifier 600W

VRX VR4002C 400W Amplifier Chrome VRX 400WATT AMP SCP on eBay (end time 10-Jun-11 13:27:14 BST)

AUNA 5.1 SURROUND SOUND AMPLIFIER RECEIVER 600W NEW | eBay UK

please make your own suggestions.

and btw i havent found Galaxy products other than those speakers i got.

regards,
Muggs

Andy98765

Distinguished Member
All those amps you are looking at I would doubt if they could produce 30watts per channel let alone 100watts.
Like all-in-one systems they may state 600watts as they have 6 channels but that would be 100watts to one channel and basically none to the others.
They also do not state if they do decoding (DTS, Dolby digital) and the clue is the lack of optical inputs.
Stay with Sony, Onyko, Yamaha and Pioneer etc.

PSM1

Distinguished Member