Question Amp with DAC recommendation

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by al2813, Nov 11, 2017.

  1. al2813

    al2813
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    I am currently running an Arcam A28 with a Bluesound Node 2 and Focal Chorus 836V speakers. My sources so far where Tidal HIFI (Node2 with impressive results especially with MQA!) and occasional Vinyls. I alm very pleased from this setup and the sound quality. The issue I have now is that I am going to get soon a BD player for both video and audio purposes. I plan to use the BD player as transport only (to reduce the cost) and rely on an external DAC. I have only one digital input into my Node 2 and that is already occupied by my TV (to which I have both my Sat receiver and my Apple TV connected via HDMI).

    I am thinking of replacing than my amp and getting a newer gen with DAC. The Arcam has given me so far nice results, so not sure how to proceed here. I am reluctant to go the AV route since I am not interested in surround nor in video switching. I would like to get good sound also when playing audio CDs....
     
  2. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,873
    Budget?
     
  3. al2813

    al2813
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    don't know yet. I was thinking of a NAD C368 plus a BlueOS module which can potentially replace both the Arcam and the Node 2, but that's over 1400 Euros. Would love a lower budget if possible....
     
  4. dollag

    dollag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +514
    I am pretty sure you can use the TV with the BD player which will still transport the data to the BN2 no? BD->TV->BN2

    saves you buying a separate dac.
     
  5. al2813

    al2813
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    That will work Ok for the movies, but audio CDs???
     
  6. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,873
    I'm confused now as your last thread concluded that you absolutely must have a dedicated CD player, but now you want to use BD.
     
  7. al2813

    al2813
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Apologies. Change of mind here. I have increasing requests in the household to play DVDs and Blurays, so need to to cater to those as well..
     
  8. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,873
    The simplest solution would be to buy a BD with a decent DAC built in. Connect it to the TV via HDMI for video & use analogue to the amp for CD. If you're happy with the Arcam I don't see any point in changing.

    Going back to your other thread for a moment, one problem I have encountered with using a BD player for CD is that I didn't realise it had a fan. It's not overly intrusive but I'd prefer that it wasn't there.
     
  9. dollag

    dollag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +514
    I'm sure you can whatever you play through the BD via hdmi and then through the optical to the BN2 with no processing, regardless if it's music or movies? Obviously correct me if I am wrong?

    I can was my dlna client in my e6 in the bedroom and send a straight signal to my dac via optical for processing. It's just a different source for you which would be the BD player. I do not see the need for a good BD player with a good dac imo.
     
  10. RBZ5416

    RBZ5416
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,873
    Well it would save having to turn the TV on to play a CD for a start...
     
  11. dollag

    dollag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2015
    Messages:
    1,171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +514
    Very good point I didn't think of that.

    Taking that into account, your solution would work better.

    Oppo are known for having great dacs in their players
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice