1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amp + Speakers - Getting it right?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by weyland-yutani, Aug 15, 2003.

1. weyland-yutani

weyland-yutani

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +103
    So I have my amp now I need my speakers. Reading the manual it advises me to make sure that my speakers match my amp, tonaly(sp). I'm completely new to h/c so can anyone tell me the formular for matching amp to speakers? I mean which specific bit of info do I need from my amp and which specific bit of info do I need to match that with from my speakers.

Any info would be appreciated, thanks
    :D

2. buns

buns
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    thats like asking how to cook an egg! :D

There is no magic formula..... you can follow general dieas like not matching bright speakers to a bright amp, or not matching a warm amp with warm speakers..... but i think that is as good as you can do. Beyond that, you just need a lot of experience..... more than most of us have..... hence tell us all what your speakers are and between us we can come up with some suggestions! :D

Ad

3. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    What he said

4. Hawklord

Hawklord

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +257
    What amp have you got and the sources you wish to use (dvd, cdp)?
    Are we talking AV , music or both?
    Budget?
    Size of room the speakers will be going in.
    Do they need to be wife freindly?
    What type of sound do you like (relaxed? forward? bright?)

give us some clues and we'll be able to give you a few pointers.

5. weyland-yutani

weyland-yutani

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +103
    I thought you had to match "Ohms and impedence" and all that guff?