1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amp Reliability?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by BestGear, Dec 13, 2004.

?
  1. Yamaha

    3 vote(s)
    11.5%
  2. Denon

    4 vote(s)
    15.4%
  3. Sony

    11 vote(s)
    42.3%
  4. Pioneer

    2 vote(s)
    7.7%
  5. Onkyo

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Marantz

    3 vote(s)
    11.5%
  7. Rotel

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  8. Parasound

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  9. Tag

    2 vote(s)
    7.7%
  10. Kenwood

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  11. Harman Kardon

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  12. Arcam

    3 vote(s)
    11.5%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi Guys

    Thought this might be interesting and fun....

    So, have you had any problems with your Amp such that it needed electronic repair?

    Please select manufacturer(s) from the Poll list!
     
  2. Ovation

    Ovation
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bought an Arcam AVR200, it blew a fuse when turning the power on. Replacement AVR200 did the same thing. Switched to Integra DTR 6.4 and while I have a few quibbles with it, it's been very reliable.
     
  3. lostprophet

    lostprophet
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Not the light side....
    Ratings:
    +12
    Had a low end sony 475 and the surround speakers died after 2 years, it wasn't the greatest reciever in the world to be fair and I had the excuse to upgrade :thumbsup:
     
  4. ab1385

    ab1385
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +75
    My CA Azur 540R ahd the left channel die on me, but nice Richer Sounds supercare thing - instant replacement no questions asked :)
     
  5. Zacabeb

    Zacabeb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    474
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +9
    I've had a Yamaha DSP-A1000 for more than 12 years, and in that time it's been in for repair once, for replacement of the volume potentiometer assembly and input selector after they had started oxidizing and producing noise. The input selector has started oxidizing again now, to the point where I sometimes have to wiggle and tap it as the sound gets distorted or even vanishes in the right channel. I won't repair the beast however, as it is time for me to get a more modern AV amp.

    It should be noted that newer AV amps and receivers largely use IC's for controlling volume and selecting inputs, instead of potentiometers and mechanical switches. The problem I had with the DSP-A1000 is simply a thing of the past.

    The above problems put aside, the DSP-A1000 has worked flawlessly. Its build quality was amazing.
     
  6. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi - you should give the volume/switch (whatever) a quick squirt with switch cleaner... that should help and cost you 2 or 3 quid for a can...

    D
     
  7. MagicBoy

    MagicBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    307
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +20
    My old Sherwood R-125RDS has a faulty CD input, probly a dry joint or cracked track on the PCB. Other than that it's been faultless. Current Sony STR-DB790 is built like a tank, never given me a single jot of bother in 12 months.
     
  8. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only 10 votes and almost 150 views? That's pretty encouraging - or we're all new owners!
     
  9. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,519
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    I'm a new owner so can't comment!
     
  10. AvAl

    AvAl
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southport
    Ratings:
    +2
    You might have had a few more votes if you'd put NAD on there!

    Mine is on its FOURTH return after it starting going faulty after 11 months - it's been away since end of September with a overheating issue (I've had it in total about 2 weeks in that time), which has then, for one reason or another cause other faults - now it's that it's not accepting any input from a digital source hence no surround sound :thumbsdow

    I love the amp, however it's not good enough. If it's not right when it comes back I want a replacement. Even though I know the engineer at Lenbrook really now (I guess that speaks for itself) never once has he talked about the possibilty. Maybe that says something about the way NAD don't want anything to do with replacements, but I have to say, 'come ON', surely this is a clear replacement unit.

    Maybe some of you have got an opinion on this one.

    I just love this amp, and wouldn't have anything else right now (hmm, I HAVEN'T got anything else right now :laugh: (I've got to laugh, otherwise I'd cry!)) but I know this isn't the only problem unit and they can get faults, possibly more than most other makes.
     
  11. goatlips

    goatlips
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +2
    Had A Sony 930 for 4 years and the volume light failed. Great AV amp! Now got Pioneer 2011 what a monster! with no problems.
     
  12. Londondecca

    Londondecca
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +96
    Marantz SR7400, a great amp but mine hums a lot and turned the screen pink when turned on. Tysons said it cannot be the amp as there is no magnets in the amp to affect the TV but after some discussion, agreed to swap it.
     
  13. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +129
    Same here but swapped for a sony1080,i think the volume light was a common fault.
     
  14. BestGear

    BestGear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +30
    Bump :)
     
  15. nicke20

    nicke20
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    sony 940 the rears click in and out on there own all the time (3 years old)
    yamaha 3090 nothing gone wrong ever !
    yamaha 750 still in the box waiting for the plasma :)
     
  16. boff

    boff
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had an ARCAM A85 and P85 in the early days. It constantly blew fuses and the software was buggy. Moved to a 3802 and then got a 1095 to drive the speakers. Just upgraded to 3805 so we shall see.... the 3802 worked faultlessy and was sold recently where it is still giving good service.
     
  17. ahin4114

    ahin4114
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +48
    I know it's not an intergrated, and technically it's not mine, but we had a couple of Arcam P7's blow up on us at the shop. After a couple of replacements from Arcam we stopped using the FMJ kit for demo's and switched over to Lexicon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...