Amp questions - Looking for advice

macspost

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm new to this whole home cinema deal (and this forum) having recently been given an amp and some speakers by a friend. There are two parts to this post really - firstly I have a problem with the amp and I want to know if anyone has any suggestions or whether it is worth fixing, and secondly there are a couple of amps I am looking at as replacements if it isn't worth fixing or just as an upgrade and I'm not sure which is better, I've been reading lots of past posts on the subject and I realise that this is somewhat open to opinion but would still like to ask....

The amp is a Yamaha DSP-A595a, quite old I know but it still sounds ok to someone like me that is used to just the TV speakers. The problem that I have is that the SR speaker does not turn on when the amp is first turned on so I only get sound from the other 4 speakers and the sub. If I turn the volume right up then the SR speaker suddenly kicks in and then I can turn the volume down and it stays working, its like it needs the initial boost to start it working each time. Even after this the SR speaker seems to stay quieter that the SL speaker so I have to compensate for this by setting the SL speaker level to -10db so they sound the same, annoying but not the end of the world. I have tried swapping speaker connections etc and it is definately the amp doing this.