1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Amp Power Qeustion

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by slyborg, Dec 5, 2003.

  1. slyborg

    slyborg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi,

    Firstly is it me or do all amps have hardwired power leads?
    Secondly if that is the case is there a reason?
    Finallywould a simple adapter suffice if taking a UK amp to Australia or would a transformer be required?

    Cheers

    Si
     
  2. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    No some amps come with a seperate power lead, IEC socket on one end, uk plug on the other. Example Arcam.

    My boss thinks Australia is 240V ac same as us and he's usually correct.:)
     
  3. slyborg

    slyborg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    My mate (for whom I'm asking the question, well the Oz part anyway) is from Oz and although he said the power is the same he was concerned as UK plugs have fuses in and the Oz ones don't (I'm no electrician so I assume there is a good reason for this difference). He hence worries that he'll stick an Oz plug on the end and kill his amp when he gets home.
     
  4. Mylo

    Mylo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +372
    Hmmm, never asked him about fusing.:confused:
    Found this.

    Here in Australia we also use 3 pin plugs but they are different
    to the UK variety, I take an adapter when I travel to the UK to plug in
    my mobile charger and electric toothbrush.
    The standard Aussie Supply is 240 volts .
     
  5. slyborg

    slyborg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cheers, I look forward to any more illumination people can provide :)
     
  6. Arsenal

    Arsenal
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, I used to live in Aus and i was just over there during the world cup, and i can say everything i've ever used over there from here works just fine with a simple adaptor.
     
  7. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problems with UK stuff working in Oz, you just need to have a plug adaptor. In fact UK plugs are better than Oz plugs as well as having individual fuse protection. The last part of the comment is taken from my brother in law who is an Aussie electrician/electrical engineer.

    Regards
    John
     
  8. BenPremium

    BenPremium
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    My old Marantz SR7000 had a crazy power lead that was completely unique to Marantz and the chuffing lead cost 50 quid to replace if you lost it rather than 2.50 from maplins like the standard connection ones.

    Talk about milking your own customers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...