(Amp fault) Diagnose this noise? 7 second video

sjbrodie

Established Member
Reaction score
Amp is a NAD3020i, an upgrade to my entry level cambridge however definitely now a vintage model.

This noise occurs only occasionally in the left channel. Seems mainly vocals and higher frequencies are broken up with distortion before returning to normal. Interestingly, I've connected the amp's "rec out" to a Line In on my sound card and recordings made on my computer pick up no disturbance from the amp's output at all. The distortion occurs through speakers and the headphone jack.

I'm no expert so I did have a technician look at it with a solder iron when I bought it. He said he could detect no problems but did suggest rotating the pots occasionally which can get dirty.

Take a look at the video and let me hear thoughts on this. Could the problem simply be dirty pots? I hope so since I really love this amp. My first quality entry level...thanks guys

Sorry about the advertising links. These were NOT INTENTIONAL! Post has been approved by mods...

Last edited:
I would classify that as gross disturbance, rather than mearly distortion. A worn pot where the wiper was jumping off from the carbon track could give that effect. But just moving the wiper up or down a little should put you on a lesser used section
As a service technician, those intermittents are the worst type of fault, so it could be anything else , a loose connection anywhere, including inside a component, and responding to the vibration and perhaps a mechanical resonance.
The only thing you know for certain is that it is in the left channel power amplifier stage. A typical repair strategy is to systematically freeze each component in turn using one of those freeze sprays and see can the problem be made permanent, then it can be fixed.