Amp Connections

Cardinale Rosso

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi All
Have just bought an Arcam 'C30', two 'P1's, and one 'P25' amps at auction but with no manual or wires and I'm really looking forward to hearing what they can do ... BUT I'm new to the pre-, power-, and bi-amp, bi-wiring world, so can someone tell me how to join all of them together to my speakers please?! And what connects will I need? Presumably the previous owner bi-wired the speakers and had a dedicated P1 for each output...

I also got T32 tuner and CD23, neither of which I really need... any suggestions about re-sale value or offers?!

Thanks - much appreciated!

PS oops - forgot to mention that I also got a B&W ASW 750 with the amps listed above - so need to include that in the loop too!

Thanks again - and apologies for my novice questions.

Manuals for all discontinued Arcam products are available from the links at Discontinued Products The manual for the C30 includes comprehensive instructions on biamping.

BTW, if the previous owner was indeed biamping, he was probably using one channel from the P25 for the tweeter on each speaker, and the P1s to individually amplify the woofer on each speaker. This strikes me as bizarre, and likely to sound a bit odd given the difference in output power between the two amps. If I were you, I'd forget biamping and just use one P1 for each speaker, and sell the P25 along with the T32 and CD23.

Thanks for the suggestions.
I had previously looked at the manuals and diagrams on the Arcam website and I couldn't get them to correspond with what I'm looking at - which may be my lack of familiarity with this sort of thing - hence my port here ... and still can't see where to put the ASW 750 in the signal circuit.

BTW the speakers I want to drive are ELS 57s, if that makes any difference ... I currently have a [very new] Arcam A19.

OK, so ELS 57s don't allow you to biamp anyway, not as far as I know. So the P25 is useless to you...