Question Amp advice - integrating a Pro-Ject Turntable into 2 separate systems, 1 modern, 1 "classic".

thisburningage

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

A few months back I got hold of a Pro-Ject Debut 3 SE turntable and my wife and my folks were kind enough to say they'd chip in and help me purchase a suitable amp to pair with it. Due to a stint of bad health it got put on the back burner but I'm now in a position to move forward - however my set-up is perhaps a bit more complicated than the norm so it would be great to have some advice.

I'm a musician and a couple of years ago I built myself a small, soundproofed studio, separate from the house, in our garden where I run a PC based DAW system comprising of an RME Fireface 800 running into a pair of Adam A7's. Amongst the general mish-mash of equipment I also have a lovely pair of Spendor ls3/5a's given to me by an ex-outside broadcast BBC sound engineer which I've been running with an unmolested Quad 405. The Adam's are great for the Alt/Rock/Electro side of things but the ls3's sound fantastic with acoustic guitar, string and symphonic tracks. The turntable is going to live in the studio (where I also keep all my vinyl) and although my priority is integrating it into the DAW>Fireface>Adam's set-up it would be amazing to be able to also have it hooked-up to the Quad>home-made volume pot>ls3's...that's if it's not going to prove to be a massive headache to achieve.

So I guess it boils down to these questions:

1. What amp would be best suited for the DAW set-up and provide the best quality for the budget I'm on (see below)?
2. If you guys think it's easily achievable, what would be the best way to integrate the turn-table so I could listen through either the Adam's or the ls3's without any (or at least minimal) switching of cables?

I imagine running everything (at some point in the two chains) into the Fireface would be good as there's plenty of inputs and outputs: RME: Fireface 800