Amp Advice for budding audiophile (currently have CA 340a + 340c + SL30)

makemywish

Ok. First of all this is a great place to learn and after having spent a few weeks reading up on various threads, I have mustered the courage to seek advice.

I have been an amateur musician and have some appreciation of music both as performer as well as listener (I think I am trying to communicate that I have a good ear). I like my music clear and punchy with good articulation of the different frequencies. For the last ten years, I owned a Sony Mini (all in one) system, as my finances could only afford an inexpensive system.

I have saved some money to buy a decent budget separates system. So,

I first bought a cheap Tangent Amp-50 (£50) and Eltax Floorstanders (Concept 180) to wet my toes. After a week of listening I realised this sounded the same as my previous mini system. So I returned them to Richer Sounds and bought a £349 Cambridge Audio (340A, 340C and S30) deal. The speakers were biwired with Cambridge Audio cables and the CD player was connected to the amp with a QED Qunex 1. I have an ipod that is connected to the amp via a Cambridge Audio ID10. I have installed Rockbox on my ipod and play FLAC files. The speakers are stand mounted. The difference in the sound was significant, with clear articulation of all the ranges. However, there is something missing -- the lower frequencies are slightly muddled and unless I play a really well mastered CD, the sound leaves you desiring for more. For the evaluation I played the following:

CDs

• Eagles (Hell Freezes Over)
  • Bryan Adam (Best of Me)
  • Stevie Ray Vaughan (Best)
  • John Lee Hooker (Shake it Baby)
  • Mendelssohn (Violin Concertos)
FLAC over iPod

• Norah Jones (Fall)
  • Michael Buble (Crazy Love)