Amiko Alien 2, worth a punt?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by Ghostleader, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +399
    Anybody had a play with one of these? A twin HD sat tuner dual boot Spark and Enigma embeded receiver for £150? Surely this could capture a piece of the market if theres half decent support, the only other receiver to come close was that DuoLabs mini thing, that was pretty rotten to say the least!
     
  2. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +399
    Having a look it looks like theres only one E2 image and its in Alpha, three other images are Spark.
     
  3. Ghostleader

    Ghostleader
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Glasgow'ish!
    Ratings:
    +399
  4. Davey H

    Davey H
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    N.E England
    Ratings:
    +152
    Not MIPS based, so the E2 side of things will end up the same as it has on all other non MIPS boxes.

    From what I've read though Spark is ok.
     
  5. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    It's all about the support... Stick with DM and VU etc.
     
  6. RobTi

    RobTi
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,614
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +153
    Any chance of explaining MIPS in relation to receivers ?

    Thanks
     
  7. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    It's the CPU architecture used:
    MIPS architecture - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    The most popular Linux based boxes are MIPS based and the platform is well supported. A non MIPS receiver may run Enigma 2 the same as a Dreambox etc but it needs to be specially compiled for the platform with the appropriate drivers for the hardware. Most of them don't get the required support and end up buggy or missing features.
     
  8. RobTi

    RobTi
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,614
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +153
    Thanks mate got the wiki and got lost in it thats why i asked, so the main reason is that MIPS receivers have to have the images compiled differently and have better ongoing support

    Robert
     
  9. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Has anyone brought one yet?
     
  10. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,314
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +416
    The MaxDigital XP1000 looks interesting at the same price. Is MIPS and has a CI slot.
     
  11. olisun

    olisun
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +251
    I am using one and new beta firmware from Satstation makes it a serious contender over other STB's in the same price point.
     
  12. hallo18

    hallo18
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I can gather on this box, its still in its early days and in not widely supported yet but that is changing on a daily basics.
     
  13. lack300

    lack300
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +46
    Can these do multi room. Or is it sender only
     
  14. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Multiroom is Sky's term for having and paying for more than one of their machines.
    What are your requirements for a machine?
     
  15. lack300

    lack300
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +46
    I have an amiko alien 2 box and wondered how I could feed my tv in another room off this box. Cheers t
     
  16. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Yes, use whatever spare output sockets it has.
     
  17. pedro2000uk

    pedro2000uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,078
    RGB looks like the best .. if the tv has that, that and the audio.. - or next there's 3 phono with av composite or scart

     
  18. kevkbuk

    kevkbuk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,169
    If the e2 support is complete you could serve the card from the alien to another box in the second room for the full multiroom experience.
     
  19. lack300

    lack300
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +46
    That's what I'm after. What are the loops for screw type connector under input.
     
  20. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,314
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +416
    Loopthrough?

    But is it still available? I see WoS no longer have it listed.
     
  21. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,314
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +416
    Cyfra + are advertising 'Multiroom' packages for no extra cost over the subscription. Would be nice to see Sky do the same, I know it is very unlikely to happen.
     
  22. lack300

    lack300
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,470
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +46
     
  23. Fred Smith

    Fred Smith
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,314
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +416
    Yes, but the channels will not necessarily be the same. If the Amiko is on the Panasonic can only see the same LNB, polarity and band, if the Amikio is off then the Panasonic will control the LNB. If you are decoding encrypted channels on the Amiko the Panasonc will not decode them.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice