1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

American Plasma displays.

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Gurn, May 5, 2005.

  1. Gurn

    Gurn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would anyone know if I imported a plasma screen from America (at a greatly reduced price), Would it work in the UK?
    I would connect it up to a Pioneer VSX-2014, using component leads.
    Do the psu's auto sense for 110 / 240 v?

    Cheers
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Some do, some have a switch and some dont. Research needed there I think. Your major issue is warranty, you won't have one with a US product. EC is different, by law it covers all EC countries, not so with US. The other problem is that whilst they look cheap in USA, when it gets here customs will have their wicked way with your wallet.... VAT, import duty and on top of all that, 14% levy on any DVI/HDMI equipped TV/panel. Add that up, and the drawback of no warranty, and you may well find it best to buy in UK
     
  3. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Also dont forget how fragile plasmas are.

    You wont be able to open the box until after you have paid all the Duty, VAT clearance fees etc.

    Imagine the hassle if after paying all that the screen is cracked.

    When the replacement arrives you might have difficulty with customs charges again unless the supplier has made it clear on the paperwork why another was sent.

    You can be sure a plasma in a box is going to be dropped on the way!

    Not a chance I would take with a plasma and a few thousand £.

    Mark.
     
  4. Gurn

    Gurn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I live in Guernsey, so will not have to worry about VAT or import duty etc.
    I also will have to get the plasma shipped to me anyway, so will have to take the risk on damage either way.
    This is why I was interested in the workings of the display.
     
  5. fatherted

    fatherted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're not worried about VAT, then I would buy in the UK.

    If buying in the US then I would make sure it is strapped to a pallet, that way it will not tip over.

    Shipping would be expensive, due to the volumetric weight. If you don't know how this works, basically shipping an empty box will cost the same as a heavy box. It's all down to the actual size the item uses up in the cargo hold, and the shipping co's have a calculation for this.
     
  6. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Lucky you !

    I would still buy from a reputable dealer in UK who can send to you without VAT, will be much less hassle if you have problems.
    Depends how much you will save of course.

    ( I have seen how pallets are 'handled' by air freight companies, I would risk a subwoofer import from USA but nothing with glass)

    Mark.
     
  7. is1111

    is1111
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,317
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105
     

Share This Page

Loading...