1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

American DV 27-help!

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by wavimm, May 5, 2004.

  1. wavimm

    wavimm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm going to import the fmj 27a from the u.s.
    Does the american have the scart contact?
    and does it work with 230/50w?
    Thank you!
    ari from norway.
     
  2. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    surely it has to be cheaper to import from the UK?

    ad
     
  3. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Norway's not in the EU, so wavimm would have to pay VAT and Import Duty buying from either USA or EU; although his shipping would be cheaper.

    StooMonster
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    oooops sorry..... id still like to think from UK would be cheaper though..... after all there isnt the US distributor getting the cut and in theory the vat wouldnt have to be paid for th UK.....

    ad
     
  5. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,549
    Norway is not in the EU?

    Don't they use the €?
     
  6. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Of course they don't use Euro as their currency if they are not in EU, they use Norwegian Kroner.

    Ah... I've spend many months on several occations working in Norway (Oslo, Stavanger, Trondheim): beautiful country, can be cold (-40C or -40F is really cold), no night in summer and no day in winter, Auroras light up the sky, expensive drinking, fjords, hering, football obsession, skiing, etc.

    Nope, not in EU and never have been. http://www.aksess.no/nteu/eng/ will fill you in.

    StooMonster
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,640
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,549
    so they're not!

    Anyway, will an USA 27 play NTSC AND PAL?

    Also doubt there will be a SCART.
     
  8. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ive never really considered this before..... but at a guess id not imagine there to be any physical difference...... after all arcam are a smallish operation and even smaller in the US...... i'll be interested to hear the truth

    ad
     
  9. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Looks like this never really got answered, so maybe this will help...

    I'm in the US and have a DV88 Plus. It has the Scart connector, and all the PAL selections available in the setup menu. There's also a switch to set supply voltage between 110/220. I'd bet the DV27 is configured similarly.

    So getting a US model to work probably means setting the voltage switch, accessing the service menu to configure region, and getting the appropriate power cable.

    Dean
     
  10. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Top man Dean :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...