AMD HD 7970 now available to order from £439.99

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by MOOGLEYS, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. MOOGLEYS

    MOOGLEYS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Telford
    Ratings:
    +84
  2. FDM

    FDM
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ouch, already spent a grand on my system and am looking at getting one of these bad boys too :(
     
  3. Bretto

    Bretto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Messages:
    622
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hayes, Middlesex
    Ratings:
    +101
    Just ordered this one......
    Pricey, but been waiting TOO LONG for an upgrade! :cool:
     
  4. FDM

    FDM
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think i'm just going for it, not sure which is best value for a i5 2500k CPU and 16gb of 1600 MHz ram tho :/

    Any insight?
     
  5. iAlex

    iAlex
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +51
    Ordered one from ebuyer...I prefer powercolor than VTX3D. 2% quidco too on ebuyer!
     
  6. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,613
    You know that the VTX3D cards are made by the same company as Powercolour's, right?
     
  7. iAlex

    iAlex
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +51
    Spoke to the guy that basically did the review on OC3D, Tom Logan. He said all card are the same at this stage.
     
  8. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,613
    Yeah, they're all reference cards at the mo. I was just saying that a preference between Powercolour or VTX3D is pointless as both brand's cards are made by TUL.
     
  9. iAlex

    iAlex
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +51
    cheapest...:hiya:
     
  10. FDM

    FDM
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. shadowboxer

    shadowboxer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +196
    Best thing to do at this stage is go for the cheapest, or ones with 3 year warranty, which ever is more important to you?
     
  12. Naqv

    Naqv
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    3,602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +350
    Ouch.
    More expensive than an xbox 360 and PS3 combined!

    Playing infamous 2 on my ps3 with 55" led, I was thinking how silly the PC GPU market is becoming, considering that Infamous 2 looks outstanding on a 5-7 year old GPU!

    I am a PC Gamer through and through but these GPU manufacturers need to take a step back.
     
  13. shadowboxer

    shadowboxer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +196
    Prices are massively inflated because of the weak £ at the moment. Hopefully this will change and with the release of Kepler AMD will be forced to cut prices. The 2GB 6950 is by far and away amazing bang for buck still at £200 and Xfire them for £400 they still beat any single core GPU on the market. Also remember that the 7970 is really for enthusists who play at super high res or eyefinity. For most gamers playing at 1080p or 1200p there are more sensible options available. I'll be sticking to my overclocked GTX 470 which performs perfectly fine at 1080p until the next generation consoles are released anyway, most PC games are terrible ports anyway.
     
  14. iAlex

    iAlex
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +51
    HD6950 in crossfire will not beat "any" single gpu on the market, hd7970 is a lot faster even an OC'd GTX580 will win against crossfire 6950.

    Cheapest HD6950 I've seen is £179.99 at Aria
     
  15. shadowboxer

    shadowboxer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +196
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  16. iAlex

    iAlex
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +51
    Strange benchmarks, I've seen other ones... Are The ones from anadatech made yesterday?

    As I said an OC'd GTX580 is close to crossfire HD6950

    As for HD7970 vs HD6990... It all depends about the game/resolution and finally drivers.
    HD6990 is only about 15% faster than HD7970. You can OC the HD7970 like crazy and make up the difference.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  17. FDM

    FDM
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I've gotten my system up and running and thought I'd catch up on some TV I'd download so conected my 32" flatscreen to my 7970 to my TV through the HDMI slot both sides are in properly and i triedn the HDMI source and the PC source but the PC and TV aren't picking it up :/

    I looked in the catalyst control section and went through the detect displays on HDMI and PC source but alas now luck, is there something i am doing wrong? :/

    Not sure If my TV is compatable with it as it wont connect to the DVI port my monitor is connected to, i just tried it. My radeon 9800 pick up the telly no problem though.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice