Amazon Fire TV box stopped working

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by daveb975, Apr 26, 2016.

  1. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +377
    I have had one of the Amazon Fire TV boxes for a few months and have just started using it.

    After about an hour of use it cuts out completely and requires a reboot. After a first reboot it won't work at all, and just gets stuck on the Amazon logo.

    Has anyone else had similar?
     
  2. Clem_Dye

    Clem_Dye
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +438
    I had an issue where the remote stopped working properly. I tried a factory reset and got the same problem as you, stuck at the logo. I got the unit replaced.

    Clem
     
  3. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +377
    Thanks. Has the replacement been ok?

    There are lots of similar experiences by the sound of it. It is annoying because there are a few shows that I want to watch on Amazon and I can't get Prime on my Apple TV or Blu Ray player, both of which seem much more reliable.

    It is on the PS4, but that seems like a lot of hassle to use. I guess I'll try one more of these first.
     
  4. Clem_Dye

    Clem_Dye
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +438
    The replacement has been fine so far apart from one further remote control glitch.

    Clem
     
  5. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,388
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +377
    Better luck than me then! I have got another one and it is exactly the same. I think I'll just return it and look for something else that plays Prime.
     
  6. Clem_Dye

    Clem_Dye
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +438
    The gotcha is that the FTV box seems really fast and responsive compared to other devices that I have that can support Prime, and are glitchy. I'd be inclined to pair a different bluetooth remote and see how you get on. Annoyingly, apart from box wake-up, I can control the FTV with my tv's remote.

    Clem
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice