1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Am I mad?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by CrispyXUK, Aug 29, 2003.

  1. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,718
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    Hi all,

    I was thinking ... as you do, about surround and stereo, I mean how music doesnt sound good on a surround reciever, so what I thought was to get three integrated stereo amps (identical) and use the analog output from my dvd player into the three amps, so with volume on remote it be the same on each amp as they all need the same ir command for volume!

    Am I mad?
     
  2. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    I used 3 nearly identical Technics amps for some years with a pro logic setup. Moved on to DVD and did just that......made a 'loom'of RCA leads to feed the amps, set the amps volume controls and used the master vol on the DVD player to adjust listening level.

    However, after much reading and research, bought a Sony VA555ES, used one of my old amps to expand it to 7.1, Result...
    Vast improvement..:D

    Cut down the electric bill a bit too..:rolleyes:
     
  3. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,718
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +34
    how did you wire them, does it have a fixed gain input?
     
  4. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    You MUST have a player with 5.1 phono outputs.....not too many players have these!

    Main front out L+R to amp 1
    Rear outs L+R to amp 2
    Centre out to amp 3, phono split for L+R into amp, so as to drive a pair of centre fronts.

    I must say though, that my 555ES with matched speakers and a albet fairly poor sub is just soooo much better!
     
  5. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    and you are assuming the player will have a master volume..... otherwise it would be a nightmare to adjust levels!

    The difficulty even with this is that i presume the dvd player will use a variable gain stage and this isnt exactly ideal from what i gather...... a specialised amp is meant to be way better.

    Ad
     
  6. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,816
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +57
    VERY true.....my first Panny player had master vol, but when it expired, my newer RA82 was lacking in this feature.......and yes, total nightmare getting it set correctly.

    Also, with this sort of setup, you are using the DVD player's onboard D/A converters, which would probably be of much lesser quality than those in a dedicated AV amp?
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Not necessarily, but its a good bet! I think that there will be more noticeable loss due to the way the volume is adjusted. I listen to a linn genki (i think) cd player which had a variable output and thus i tried it without a preamp and straight to a linn power amp.... compared to using a matched preamp it tuly sounded awful!

    Ad
     
  8. Sunday Ironfoot

    Sunday Ironfoot
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Arcam's DIVA A85 and P85 integrated and power amplifiers are designed to be upgradable in that you can turn them into a 5 or even 7 channel amplifier, just add processor. This is currently what I'm saving up for as I mainly listen to music and don't want to sacrifice musicality in my setup.

    Basically it's possible to add a third channel to the P85 power amp and use this in conjuction an A85 stereo amp for 5 channels, for 7 channels I'd imagine you just add an extra P85 power amp.

    I think the Arcam A85 stereo amp can be upgraded in some way to add an onboard surround sound processor although I'm not sure.

    If you want something better then consider the Arcam FMJ A35 and P32, a step up from the A85/P85 combo and with similar upgrade potential. Or just go the whole hog and get their FMJ P7 7 channel Power Amplifier which has the same topology as the FMJ A35/P32 combo, again just add processor.
     

Share This Page

Loading...