Am I dumb ass of the year?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Downinja, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. Downinja

    Downinja
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +579
    Ok so I spotted something last night that could make me moron of the year.

    I have a 360 and both component and VGA cable.

    My HD TV has some issues and had to go back, the issue directly affected VGA so that hasn't been tried yet.

    I did briefly try the component cable and wasn't that impressed, I tried both 720p and 1080i

    Last night I spotted that there is a small switch on the cable to switch between HDTV and TV.

    Obviously it was set to TV, will that make a difference, and if so why does it let you select 720p with it switch to TV?
     
  2. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    With it set to TV it lets you set 720p but it only stays on that for about 2 seconds then defaults back to 480p/480i etc. So you were never getting a HD signal via component so yes your a dumb ass of the year :D
     
  3. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +1,156
    Congratulations, you win a prize
     
  4. Downinja

    Downinja
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +579
    As much as I feel bad for being such a moron, I am 100% glad it's gonna look better than it did :D
     
  5. hottstuff

    hottstuff
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +149
  6. andrewrunagall

    andrewrunagall
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Essex
    Ratings:
    +63
    D'oh!!!
     
  7. Crisp_Rapper

    Crisp_Rapper
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +8
    living in chesterfield does indeed seem to numb the mind. you poor thing :rotfl:
     
  8. Dave

    Dave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    11,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,401
    Don't feel to bad. You'd be amazed at the amount of people who come here asking if the switch makes a difference.

    Your not the first and you certainly won't be the last.:hiya:
     
  9. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,031
    A friend recently upgraded to an HDTV and he must have spent a good 15 minutes in the settings menu flicking between 480i and 720p before I pointed him in the right direction.

    Surely you noticed the text was extremely sharp after changing to 720p then dropped back down again to blurry ****e!
     
  10. Downinja

    Downinja
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +579
    Honestly I noticed the text was a little blury but I figured maybe it needed a reboot, then I figured maybe it was the TV scaling from 720p to 768p, finally I figured I wouldn't worry about it too much as when my TV gets back I will be using VGA and setting it to 1360x768 anyway.

    Seems a bit stupid to have to manually switch it as well as set it in the settings.
     
  11. tinners

    tinners
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +242
    Doh ! This is an instance of RTFM if ever I saw one :D
     
  12. Rasuphas

    Rasuphas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2005
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +15
    Also guilty. Only took me a day to remember about the little switch though. Atleast this way I got to drag the pleasure out a bit longer than the clever people though
     
  13. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,373
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    Not really as id assume you need to physically tell the connector wether your using the component for HD or using the composite connector so it riggers some sort of switch to let the system know. Slight Flaw as when your on tv mode you can still use the component connector for 480p :confused:

    Never mind im sure you wont be the last one to have this problem :D thank goodness for the forums eh ;)
     
  14. madfish_den

    madfish_den
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a chesterfield born bloke, can I restore parity to the town by saying i've not done this (yet!).:lesson:

    I did have the sense to leave though, albeit not the sense to cancel my season ticket to the spireites...:suicide:

    Denny
     
  15. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,031
    The switch is important. You need to be able to set the res to 480i without viewing the screen. Otherwise it would impossible to use an Xbox 360 on an SD TV that was previously setup for an HD TV.

    Its also very handy since it identifies the 'Dumbass of the year' :rotfl:
     
  16. Downinja

    Downinja
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,078
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Chesterfield
    Ratings:
    +579
    I am not buying that, I work with PCs daily that set themselves to higher resolutions than a lot of screens can deal with.

    You plug said PC into a lower res screen and it identifies it as a lower res, fair call component doesn't have the advantage of EDID, but still you can do it via safe mode.

    IMO it should be a reset switch that resets to SD, not a manual switch, bad design, but I am still claiming that award.
     
  17. vaporand

    vaporand
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +20
    complete buffoon... :)
     
  18. Nivek TT

    Nivek TT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +2,031
    Not always true. I had a friend at uni borrow my monitor so she could set her resolution low enough (800 x 600) to something her stone age monitor could handle!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice