1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Am I Connecting This Right

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by bigjonnyauk, Jul 25, 2004.

  1. bigjonnyauk

    bigjonnyauk
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +16
    hi all

    getting a new t.v next week and just got some new cables and stuff in ready
    t.v has 2 scarts one rgb one normal

    will i be connecting this up right my equipment is

    ntl box
    video
    dvd player
    ps2
    amp for audio

    all audio connections to amp

    then

    scart 1 the rgb one ntl out> scart to t.v in scart on video
    then t.v out on video scart to back of t.v

    scart 2 non rgb ps2

    i will just put the dvd scart in back of scart 1 when i watch dvd no big deal


    i also use the normal aerial lead aswell atm this goes into rf in on video then rf out to tv

    this is so i can watch other channels while recording ie if i am taping something on ntl i can still watch channel 1-5 on normal tele


    hope thats clear or if i can do it better let me know cheers
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    sounds ok, a better method would be to use RGB for dvd,ntl and dvd but that would require a quattro or similar.
     
  3. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    Scarts aren't particularly robust at the best of times and I wouldn't recommend constantly plugging and unplugging scarts every time you wanted to watch a DVD.

    Some sort of scart box would be preferable as hornydragon suggested
     
  4. bigjonnyauk

    bigjonnyauk
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +16
    you mentioned dvd twice there ?

    i dont mind just taking out the main rgb scart to plug the dvd one in direct when the dvd player is not used it will be left out so we could just prob forget about the dvd player all together



    but is the rest ok mate
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    forget about DVD are you MAD!!!!
     
  6. bigjonnyauk

    bigjonnyauk
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +16
    ok what i am basically saying is i dont want my dvd players pic to be rubbish so will not connect it to the normal non rgb scart

    i dont really want a switch box as they lose quality i beieve and i aint got much money left now

    for the amount of times i watch dvds ian maybe 2 or 3 a week i should hope the scart would last quite a time i am careful

    i am doing this with my crabby bush at the minute had it 18 months and scart is still as strong as it was from day one

    anyways i got a 5 year warrenty coming with new t.v :)
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    £15 for a basic 3:1 or 5:1 scart adapter block (only one component can be on at a time) but worth it for the extra capacity and the tidyness aspect.
     
  8. bigjonnyauk

    bigjonnyauk
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +16
    when u say one component on at time can i video a program of ntl while playing my ps2 which i can do at present
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    well erm no
     
  10. bigjonnyauk

    bigjonnyauk
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    726
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    midlands
    Ratings:
    +16
    so how do i get round this then

    i am happy to get a switch box but many a time my lad wants to play his ps2 on the tele and there is something on i want to watch so i just set the video to line 2 in put on the ntl channel i want to watch and press record the lad carrys on ;aying his ps2
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    BEst bet is get a Quattro or Quinttro and use that, they have a recording looh so you can send NTL to VCR while PS2 plays on TV
     

Share This Page

Loading...