• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Am going to take back my SD5 tommorow, what should I replace it with?

danni08

Standard Member
Have almost had a nervous breakdown with this camcorder! I am not an expert by any stretch of the imagination but thought I would be ok with it. Managed to download the movies onto my laptop but as I used a USB cable the quality was not HD. Actually it was really poor as all the filming was done indoors. I thought that if I linked the SD5 with an HDMI cable to my laptop then it would be ok but it doesnt even recognise the conection.

So unless anyone can tell me where I am going wrong I will take it back for a refund. All I really want is a camcorder of a similar size to the SD5 (its a really nice shape) with the best quality possible which I can burn dvds.

Would really appreciate any advice!

DrMekon

Established Member
Wasnt aware of any laptop that had an hdmi connection...??? How are you actually connecting an hdmi to it...???

A usb cable would just be used to transfer the files from the cam to the laptop...

its a really nice shape

Is that really a reason to buy a cam?? lol...

DrMekon

Established Member
Maybe its a hdmi out.. to be connected to a hdtv/projector, and will not accept an input??

Ive not seen one on a laptop before.. but have on PCs and they are usually outputs...

nbkicker33

Established Member
i cant understand how you download the movie from the camera to computer and its not hd ???,its a 1080i camcorder so unless you havnt got settings right in what quality u recording on the sd5 or downloading as.it should be hd when it on yr computer

danni08

Standard Member
yes have just figured out that its HDMi output only!