1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Alternative to Nvidia PureVideo Decoder

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by WSB, Oct 5, 2005.

  1. WSB

    WSB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hiya,

    does anyone know of any free decoders out there? My freeview on MCE has given up due to the fact that the trial version of the decoder has expired. I'm just wondering if there are any free alternatives to try....else I guess I'll have to purchase it. I looked on Scan and its a rip off as they charge way too much for delivery and you cant order direct from nvidia as it looks to be a US/Canada only thing.
     
  2. phunkey_monkeh

    phunkey_monkeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can download trials of WinDVD or PowerDVD. Eventually you will have to 'buy' one but that should give you another month or so :p
     
  3. OneEleven

    OneEleven
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen the OEM version of PowerDVD for a couple of quid with a couple of quid postage. Think it was ebuyer
     
  4. WSB

    WSB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    thanks- think i may even have it somewhere as i bought a lightscribe dvd writer recently.
     
  5. JonLeach

    JonLeach
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Deepest Darkest Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +22
  6. TheCrow

    TheCrow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +41
  7. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    Try WIn DVD7, out of all the codecs i've used it give the best quality....
     
  8. WSB

    WSB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    OK- so I got home last night- completely uninstalled nvidia - did have Power DVD installed but my TV playback and TV Recording playback on MCE still comes up with a Decoder error.

    Any ideas? Didnt try a dvd- so perhaps I should have done. Where does MCE decide what decoder to use for live TV or recordings?

    no more e4 :rolleyes:
     
  9. JonLeach

    JonLeach
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    742
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Deepest Darkest Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +22
    Sounds like thats the problem,

    what i would do:

    remove any other DVD software, download ms dvd codec check
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...ac-0ab6-4990-943d-627e6ade9fcb&displaylang=en
    and install a known good working codec, the one on the cole2k link above works ok.

    run the codec check and choose the working codec.

    jon
     
  10. SteveL

    SteveL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    I just bought WinDVD 7 as well and the quality is superb.

    Finally got rid of the interlacing on LiveTV too!!! had tweaked and fiddled with the nVidia codec endlessly but never managed to get rid of it totally.

    So :thumbsup: for WinDVD 7 :)
     
  11. TheCrow

    TheCrow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +41
    I've tried WinDVD 6 & 7 with TV in MCE and found I couldn't rewind/fast forward then go into play without it showing a message about no signal then having to hit stop and play to get any picture back.

    Does no one else have this issue with WinDVD?
     
  12. SteveL

    SteveL
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    Should have mentioned, I have Sky+ via S-Video into a PVR-150 MCE

    Have watched a couple of hours LiveTV this evening and I'm pretty sure the picture has improved considerably (tho this is probably connected to the interlacing issue I was having before)
     
  13. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +266
    yes I do the same, when I rwd/fwd, I get the error, but i just stop it and play it and it works...it's a known bug in win dvd as weell as it not keeping the audio settigns, they still have not fixed it yet...but i have a Logitech Dinovo keyboard, and it has fwd/rwd buttons on it and it can skip through the recorded tv as if it was a dvd by 10-30 seconds intervals, so i use that instead...buy that keyboard...it's the "Dinivo cordeless desktop for notebooks" , best keyboard I have used, has laptop style keys, it's thin and light and comfortable and has good range, and yes the media keys are handy, great alternatvie to the ms medi center keyboard...
     
  14. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Mediaportal comes with free dvd codecs and is free :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...