Alpine NVD Z002

Discussion in 'Portable Disc & Media Players & Recorders' started by Gazpilot, Aug 10, 2005.

  1. Gazpilot

    Gazpilot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone updated to this software version. If so are there any improvements over the earlier maps as I'm just about to order it.
     
  2. Gazpilot

    Gazpilot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guy's well the disc arrived today and has a few new features.

    1. 3D map view

    2. Lane direction at junctions (with map view)

    Seems a little quicker and more user friendly.
     
  3. cjdshaw

    cjdshaw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This page:
    http://www.geo24.de/article/articlestatic/157/1/4/
    http://translate.google.com/transla...//www.geo24.de/article/articlestatic/157/1/4/
    seems to indicate that it's constantly searching for better routes. Have you noticed this? I have the Z001 and am sometimes surprised by the slow routes it suggests to me. Forcing it to take a route I know by adding a via can sometimes drastically cut the estimated journey time. It particularly seems to prefer going through a town center to taking the bypass.

    Also, have they added an altimeter? I was doing some mountain driving this year and would have loved to know how high I was
     
  4. Gazpilot

    Gazpilot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    The only time the route search seems to be active is when I have it set to auto on the TMC menu or if I ask to go via a petrol station or the like. Have you set your road preferences?

    The 3D view is great and gives much more situational awareness.

    I haven't noticed an altimeter, perhaps it may be on the GPS status page, I'll check tomorrow.
     
  5. analyt

    analyt
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Gazpilot, have u fitted the Bosch aerial as yet, if so are u pleased with the difference?

    I have a new problem now, and would appreciate your comments.

    I am contemplating the new "open sky sunroof "on the Audi A3 Sportback, this is a new idea and gives you two sunroofs ie one in front and one in rear, its quite a peculiar set up, and although i will have air conditioning, I have always enjoyed the extra light a sun roof gives......

    My problem is I totally took on board your comments re external aerial, and l will be having a TV Tuner, be it analogue or digital, this open sky sunroof is glass from front to back with nowhere to fit a roof aerial.

    It has been suggested that l have a glass mounted aerial on the rear window internally for the TV what do you think? Is there any where else l could have it mounted externally?

    Sunroof is heat reflective ie has metal in its make up, l will be having factory fit privacy glass which apparently has no metal infused.

    Thanks for all the links l have found them so useful.
     
  6. Gazpilot

    Gazpilot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry it took so long but missed this post :oops: , the Bosch can be mounted on the rear panels and comes with 2 rubber mounting plates to overcome the extra curve.

    The signal reception is much better but I'm still interested in the amplifier some guy's found on Ebay as i still get breakup, this may juys be the cheap box I brought and as Alpine have just released one I may well change it..
     

Share This Page

Loading...