1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

All this talk about Sky+...

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Gojira, Dec 4, 2004.

  1. Gojira

    Gojira
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...giving a dreadful plasma picture confuses me.

    Is this an issue unique to Sky+ or is this an issue that affects normal Sky Digital boxes also?

    My concern is that I am about to invest £1500 on a plasma screen and am worried that I am going to have problems watching Sky hosted channels upon it.

    I have a normal domestic set up (and budget!) so having a PC or expensive descaler is out of the question.
     
  2. kwijibo

    kwijibo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +2
    i use a Pioneer 43mxe1 and sky, sky+ and sports (tennis and football are notorious) are great. Smooth pictures and very watchable. Love it!!
     
  3. Gojira

    Gojira
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cool, so why does the Sky picture get such a slating on here?

    Is it so unwatchable or are there lots of purists?!? :p

    Admittedly, I will be going for a slightly lower budget machine (LG LZ42PX11) so will this make a great difference?
     
  4. mcav

    mcav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    The interconnects make all the difference.

    More importantly - you shold always a: allow a couple of weeks for your panel to settle. b: fully callibrate your panel also. and c: use decent cables.

    Despite all the talk of converting to vga and whatnot... a good RGB cable will work well.
     
  5. Gojira

    Gojira
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. That has gone some way to putting my mind at rest.
     
  6. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    There is also an old saying "The wider you open the barn door, the more sh.. :censored: that will come in"..... in other words, the more you magnify a picture, the more you will see the imperfections. Fact of life, I'm afraid.
     
  7. telmanning

    telmanning
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you think is the best program for calibrating a plasma? I have had my Hitachi 42PD5200 for a few weeks now and I am happy in general with the picture, letting it settle in before i go mad with the settings!

    I have seen comments about digital video essentials, some good some bad. I have seen it on a few web sites but nobody has it in stock and all are 3-4 weeks delivery, are there any other disks that do the same thing?

    Tel
     
  8. micol

    micol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    In front of my PC
    Ratings:
    +2
    You could try the Avia Home Theatre disk. I've heard it's probably the best disk out there. I don't think any are geared toward Plasma's though. There are also proffesional's who can come round your house and do all this for you if you prefer. There is a member here wo does it (can't remember his name though...sorry).
     
  9. phillfyspoon

    phillfyspoon
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +76
    I use ntl on panny 7 and picture is fantastic.
     
  10. telmanning

    telmanning
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Micol I will see if I can get a copy and give it a try
     
  11. AV Junky

    AV Junky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    1,214
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +69
    Nobody has said that all programming on Sky gives a poor picture ona plasma. What they have said is that some programmes on some channels are poor to start with, so showing them at 42" highlights the problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...