All Sony system - problems when watching Blu-ray

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by hockenpj, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. hockenpj

    hockenpj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the following kit:

    Sony STR-DA2400ES
    Sony BDP-S550
    Sony KDL-40Z4500

    When I watch Blu-ray discs the image flickers and snow appears on the screen and the 1080/24p indicator appears on the screen, it seems to happen at similar points during particular film.

    I am hopeful that the amp is in good working order as it has already been replaced by the vendor.

    Any help would be appreciated, let me know if you need any further details to aid the diagnostics.

    Thanks
     
  2. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    Do you have any other hdmi cables to try?
     
  3. hockenpj

    hockenpj
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried three different types of HDMI cable.

    All of which are very short
     
  4. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    Sounds remarkably like the issues I had Sunday with my Sony kit.

    I'd updated the firmware as I had a disk which would not play correctly. i tried a few dvd's as well and got similar issues.

    The remedy was to replace the short hdmi cable, the problems went away completely.

    I was almost at the point of packing the Bluray player up to take back.
     
  5. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    What happens if you connect directly i.e. not via the amp?
     
  6. StevieDvd

    StevieDvd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Stevenage, Herts
    Ratings:
    +151
    Went to watch a bluray last night and I got the issue back again. Connected the bluray player to the tv direct and no issues. It does appear to happen to me at the same points in the movie - note I have the same amp which is worrying.

    Will try to find the cause after work tonight.

    Update

    I think I've managed to resolve my problem and hope it may help sort yours.

    I reset the BD and Amp back to factory settings. Then setup each device one at a time with the others switched off. I noticed that having renamed the inputs they are now appearing correctly in the display of the amp.

    For the sound I followed other threads about setting the audio to 'amp only' and the BD to direct.

    Cross-fingers it seems to be OK now, hope it's still OK next time I use it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...