All in one, or budget separates?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by newbie2004, Nov 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. newbie2004

newbie2004

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

I could do with some help. I've trawled through a lot of posts on the website, but haven't found answers to my questions.

Basically, I'm new to all this and have just bought a conventional widescreen TV (my first) that I now want to set up with a DVD and sound system.

Should I go for a all in one system (such as the Denon 500), or a suite of budget separates (say the Toshiba 340, Denon 1705 Amp, Elac 5.1 speakers)?

Both options above came priced up at less than £600. My budget is circa £500 - perhaps £700.

I'd like to have quality sound. My current hifi setup consists of some mid range separates, but they are getting a bit old and worn. I was wondering if I might be able to get a decent sound from a DVD audio system (as a sort-of replacement), or would my price range mean that it wasn't worth it??

Any advice?
    :lease:

2. reservoir51

reservoir51

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sorry that no one has come to you with some suggestions as yet, so I'll have a go.

I can't comment on those components that you've mentioned, but my opinion is that separates are definitely the way forward if you are after sound quality. Although I'm sure one could get decent sounding all-in-one systems if one is prepared to pay the price, pound-for-pound in terms of sound quality, there is no substitute for a set of carefully matched separates. For one thing, you could always upgrade your separate components individually as time goes by, but you couldn't do that with an all-in-one set.