All in one, or budget separates?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by newbie2004, Nov 5, 2004.

1. newbie2004

newbie2004

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all

I could do with some help. I've trawled through a lot of posts on the website, but haven't found answers to my questions.

Basically, I'm new to all this and have just bought a conventional widescreen TV (my first) that I now want to set up with a DVD and sound system.

Should I go for a all in one system (such as the Denon 500), or a suite of budget separates (say the Toshiba 340, Denon 1705 Amp, Elac 5.1 speakers)?

Both options above came priced up at less than £600. My budget is circa £500 - perhaps £700.

I'd like to have quality sound. My current hifi setup consists of some mid range separates, but they are getting a bit old and worn. I was wondering if I might be able to get a decent sound from a DVD audio system (as a sort-of replacement), or would my price range mean that it wasn't worth it??

Any advice? :lease:

2. simon100

simon100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    I'm in the same position.
    I currently have a DVD player, Tosh 330EB plugged into a Sony TV and am planning to upgrade to a proper home cinema system. I have been trawling the net and this forum for guidance (divine?).
    I have sort of narrowed it down to either a Denon system, DHT 500SD or DM51DVS or a Yamaha system which is designated AV package 70, http://www.yamaha-audio.co.uk/avpackage/htibs/av package 70/index.php but consists of component parts. The problem with the DHT 500SD is that it does not have a scart socket, which I need for the Sony TV.
    I also need to think of audio as well as DVD as my wife does not like the idea of two speakers in the room as well as a 5.1 system!
    My current favourite is the Yamaha, which seems to cover all the bases and is cheaper. Reviews on the component parts on this site are quite favourable as well.