1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

All-in-one Buying Advice

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by ParmMann, Dec 26, 2004.

1. ParmMann

ParmMann

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +50
    Hi all,

Following on from my Plasma thread: http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=1347356#post1347356

I'm looking for a all-in-one home cinema system to hook up to my Plasma.
    The Plasma looks as though it will be a Pioneer PDP-505XDE.

Which all-in-one system would you best recommend for < £1000.

Again, I'm new to all-in-one systems, so I'm looking for something with the following attributes:
    1. Looks smart in a room of light whites, creams (furniture, carpets, blinds) and some dark black bits (marble fire, table).

2. Has all the features to keep up with the Plasma, do you get all-in-ones with DVD players that have HDMI?

3. Will be hooked up to my Sky box, not sure if I'll be upgrading to Sky+ so it might be an idea to have a DVD Recorder.

4. Support for playback of most formats. Would like to play CD's, CD-R's, SACD's etc. Would be very nice if I could play DIVX, XVID, MPEG's and what have you, but that might be a bit far fetched?

A few months back I was thinking about going for the Pioner NSDV1000, it looked really smart, had generally good specs, and wasn't a bad price.
    However, its no longer on the Pioneer website, has it been discontinued?

Thus, which all in one system would you suggest for my Plasma setup?

Thanks,
    Parm

2. ParmMann

ParmMann

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +50
    *bump*

3. ParmMann

ParmMann

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +50
    *bump* :lease:

4. zenki200

zenki200

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0