all icons lead to photoshop

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by oddbubble, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. oddbubble

    oddbubble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    I hope someone can help with this because I am well and truly stumped.

    I don't no how it happened but every icon on my dads computer now opens Photoshop, same to for every program in the start menu.

    I have been through all the program(work,chrome and various others) files and every time I try to open the program from there Photoshop still opens it even happens when I try to open cmd windows.

    The only thing that works is the file manager and parts of the control panel, I cant even use the backup restore utility because it opens Photoshop.

    I have lent him my laptop as I can't work out a way to fix it without reinstalling windows as I work in IT and have never seen this happen and now I am curious.

    I am thinking it might be something in the registry but Its like looking for a needle in a hay stack.

    I have also managed to remove Photoshop but still no change only now the icons and everything else opens nothing instead.
     
  2. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,884
  3. oddbubble

    oddbubble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    I have tried to boot it into safe mode but it don't seam to make any difference
     
  4. spyder viewer

    spyder viewer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,846
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,285
    When you rt click icon/properties I assume in the target box it shows "photoshop"? Have you tried deleting an icon and re-creating it?
     
  5. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,913
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,884
  6. LJx

    LJx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,270
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +451
  7. oddbubble

    oddbubble
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    282
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +35
    Thanks for the help guys.

    after a bit of messing around using what you guys told me I managed to get a few things working But it turned out it was riddled with viruses. I have backed up all the files that were on there and reinstalled windows.

    now I'm just waiting for my anti virus to finish scanning my portable hardrive that had the backup on.

    I don't think it was the virus that had caused the problems so I am still curious as to how it happened
     

Share This Page

Loading...