1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

All drives showing as SCSI devices?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Brogan, Jul 20, 2004.

  1. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    OK, another one for you gurus out there....

    All of my drives (hard disks and optical) are showing as SCSI devices.
    This happened after I installed the RAID drivers for my mobo.
    Previously when I had Windows ME, the drives all showed as standard IDE devices.

    Not a problem yo umay think except I am having weird problems with the CD and DVD drives now - not able to read, can't copy, etc.
    The latest problem is I can't rip CDs using EAC.
    It is 'unable to detect a valid read mode' for the drive.
    This has to do with the drives now being recognised as SCSI devices but I don't know how to resolve it.

    Can anyone help?

    I have put some screenshots of Device Manager and the EAC error in Clipboard format here:
    http://www.zen49495.zen.co.uk/Files/EAC.zip
    http://www.zen49495.zen.co.uk/Files/Hardware.zip

    Any help in resolving this issue greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Just had a thought....this wouldn't have anything to do with using ATA 66/100 cables for the CD & DVD instead of ATA 33 cables, would it?
     
  3. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +186
    What motherboard do u have?
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,051
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,130
    I had this on an asus board with the onboard promise ide/raid controller.
    This was back in the days when ata100 was the newest standard and I suspect it was a strap up on a raid controller chip to get the new standard to function.

    The "ide controller" showed up as a scsi device controller but the drives showed up as ide devices.
    The annoying thing was that you had to copy the promise driver to a floppy and have it to hand if you wanted to boot from an hd on the ata100 channel during a clean install. Failing that you had to use the secondary ide channel to install to which was ata66 and worked with the bog standard driver in windows and then swap the drive back to the primary channel once you had installed the promise driver in windows.

    Crazy so it was , thankfully I've not encountered it on the subsequent 4 machines I've had knocking around the house but its puut me off promise controllers and via chipsets.
     
  5. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    It's an EPoX 8K7A+ motherboard with an onboard RAID controller.
    It's the RAID controller drivers that has caused all of the devices to appear as SCSI.
    I had some problems getting the RAID device working, which is common in XP.
    After I managed to install the drivers, everything changed to a SCSI device.

    It's causing problems in lots of areas - especially programs which involve reading/copying to/from CD.
     
  6. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +186
    Not a problem.

    If I use the Nforce IDE drivers with my motherboard my devices show as SCSI.

    The device driver isnt allwoed to be called IDE if it doesnt have Microsofts stamp of approval. Thats why Nvidias IDE drivers for almost 2 years were labelled as SCSI.

    If it works fine its great - which by the way wasnt the case with Nvidias "IDE" driver for well over a year. Same issues as you in fact.

    You definitely have the latest drivers from Epox or the manufacturer of the RAID chip?
     
  7. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    what the fudge?!
    Who gave them the authority to decide which hardware could be classified as which?
    Oh yeah, they did.... :rolleyes:

    All the latest drivers installed.
    Everything was fine and showing as IDE until I installed the RAID drivers.
    Now I can't seem to change it back and it's causing all kinds of problems.

    :censored: Microshaft!
     
  8. drummerjohn

    drummerjohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    2,465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +186
    Goto AOA forums at:

    http://www.aoaforums.com/forum

    They have an Epox section thats manned by an Epox representative. They should certainly be able to help you out.
     
  9. Brogan

    Brogan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cary, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +481
    Thanks for the link.
    I'll give it a try.
     

Share This Page

Loading...