All cat 5'd up!!

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by freddyuk, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. freddyuk

    freddyuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Having built a large conservatory /bedroom extension i listened to all the advice here and elsewhere and wired up Cat 5 all over the rooms "for future proofing" on the basis wireless tech is not yet as good as hardwiring.
    I am about to finish laying the floor tiles so will have no way of fitting additional cables for example speakers.
    I understand Cat 5 is good enough for average speaker reproduction ( i am not a hi-fi nut) and i have sockets all round the rooms holding doubled up cat 5 cable.
    Am i ok to use all the strands in the individual cables for the speakers wherever i need them?
    Also what type of connection should i use on the wall plates?

    Thanks very much
     
  2. edent

    edent
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +18
    I've used Cat5 for speaker wiring and for digital Co-Ax; it's fine. Depending on how you're running, it'd terminate each cable with a standard Cat5 socket. You can then easily wire up a new cable to go into the socket for your speakers.
     
  3. DTSFan2001

    DTSFan2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got Cat5e as speaker wire on my relatively high end system and it sounds incredible, for music and movies. It may not be to everyones tastes soundwise, but it's good for me and I'm quite particular about sound/picture quality.
     
  4. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    May I ask why?
     
  5. DTSFan2001

    DTSFan2001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know really. Everyone has a different taste as to the kind of sound they like. Maybe I was putting too fine a point on it.
     
  6. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    OK, thanks :)
     
  7. freddyuk

    freddyuk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Appreciate the feedback. Now for a complete nob what else do i need to have a central "server" for getting audio and possibly video around the house. I think i know what i want but haven't a clue where to start planning the hardware. Is there a good site or forum thread i can follow or would you be prepared to describe your setup so i can start from somewhere? Happy to PM if you prefer.

    Thanks very much.:thumbsup:
     
  8. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    Please tell me you meant 'noob'?? :rotfl:
     
  9. edent

    edent
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +18
    I think you may have misunderstood me - I use CAT5 as a transport medium.
    See http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=329938

    So, I've just got my DVD player's Coax going into the CAT5 cable and then terminating in a standard phono plug. It can also carry stereo audio and component video. Or, most anything else you can send over a cable.

    Now, you could set up a PC with a network card to generate audio / video - but it's probably easier to use Squeeze box for audio.

    T
     
  10. Glenagoolie

    Glenagoolie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    If it's not to late I'd put down a Cat5e shielded cable to your main TV if it's capable of taking a VGA signal (For HTPC)
    I'm just after wiring up and it's too late. Very handy if you ever need to run a VGA signal from a PC to a LCD later on.
    Apparently it doesn't work as well with un-shielded.

    R
     

Share This Page

Loading...