Alienware m17 R4 gaming laptop

chillo

Hi all,

just ordered a fairly max spec laptop:
Alienware m17 R4
10th Generation Intel Core i9-10980HK (8-Core, 16MB Cache, up to 5.3GHz Max Turbo
17.3" UHD (3840 x 2160) 60Hz 25ms 500-nits
32GB DDR4 2933MHz
4TB (2x 2TB PCIe M.2 SSD) RAID0 [Boot] + 512GB PCIe M.2 SSD [Storage]
NVIDIA(R) GeForce RTX(TM) 3080 16GB GDDR6
and an Alienware AW3420DW 34" curved screen.

This is my new wfh work laptop but with the spec I’m looking at maybe using it to test the water with some pc gaming! (I’m an Xbox gamer and mainly play Warzone!)

so looking for any set up tips you experienced pc gamers can give me! I’m a total novice in things like config of resolutions, refresh and fov settings etc. Anything else?
Appreciate this machine is a laptop so won’t have quite the power of an equivalent desktop setup but I’m hoping to be able to get a good feel for the world of pc gaming and how it this compares to gaming on an Xbox Series one x!
Interesting to see how a laptop based rig that cost more than 13x an Xbox 1x compares!

caz2005

I quite like Alienware laptops. Of all the "gaming" laptops I've had the Alienware as the best one.

Good job you got the external monitor. I imagine it's an ultrawide 1440p? That'll be much better for gaming than a 60hz panel. I think with that spec you'll have a great gaming experience.

I wouldn't worry too much about refresh rates. Your monitor should be set at the highest allowed automatically but never the less you can check and if not just set it to max it allows (the external monitor that is). Your laptop panel will be at and stay at 60hz.

Personally, with games I just set everything up at max lol and with that cpu and gpu combo you'll definitely be able to. Not sure you'll get more than 40-50fps at 4k on the laptop panel but you'll only be gaming on that when you're away from the external monitor :)