aleinware graphics card upgrade

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by oddball123, Aug 12, 2012.

  1. oddball123

    oddball123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi to all,my son wants to up grade his graphics card (Aleinware Aurora)he is after a GTX680 will this be compatible if not any similar suggestions would be much appreciated cheers Shaun
     
  2. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,490
    Alienware have been making Aurora models for at least 13 years, so the answer is either yes or no depending on which one he's got (not to mention the customisations it has).

    I would imagine it'll physically fit length-wise and assuming it's a fairly recent machine (a few years old) it should have a PCI-E slot as well rather than the older AGP. The limiting factor is likely to be whether your power supply has enough capacity for the system and the GTX 680.
     
  3. oddball123

    oddball123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers Endlesswaves for the reply the Aurora was purchased 12/2011 not to clued up what you mean on power supply but it as a intel(r)core(tm)i5-2300 [email protected] if this is of any help ,the graphics card thats in is a GTX460 if the power supply isn't enough which way would we go about to upgrade or could we just add to the graphics card he already as cheers Shaun
     
  4. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,490
    Computers operate on low voltage DC power like laptops, so they have a box in the corner of the case (the power supply) to do the conversion (same as a laptop power brick). This power supply has a maximum rating in watts on the power it can convert. If you take the side of the case the power supply should have a label on the side of it listing this wattage.

    The GTX 680 requires around 50W more than the GTX 460 so you couldn't swap it out directly if your power supply was just sufficient but looking on the Alienware site the current Aurora ships with an 875W power supply which is a huge amount (a GTX 680 would be fine on a good 500-550W with an i5) so if yours is similar then it wouldn't be a problem.

    If you want to keep the GTX 460 for extra monitors or a physX card then you'd have to see if there was a second slot of the same type (PCI-E 16x), if you do have an 800W power supply then that would be sufficient for both.
     
  5. oddball123

    oddball123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cheers Endlesswaves on looking there is a lead going to the graphics card saying PSU 525w i imagine this is what you mean ,is there a graphics card that you would recommend to run MOH Warfighter in at least high or ultra graphic settings with good FPS cheers Shaun
     
  6. oddball123

    oddball123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Endlesswaves sorry for picking your brains but is there a way of telling if we have (PCI-E16x as appose to AGP) as you can tell me and the son not to clued up on internal parts cheers Shaun
     
  7. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,490
    Dell power supplies are usually good quality so as long as there aren't too many other extras in the system (lots of expansion cards, hard drives, DVD drives etc.) you should be fine.

    Performance-wise you need to give the resolution but assuming it's something not too extreme (2560x1440 or above) then you should stand a good chance with near-maximum settings, a GTX 670/680 should have no problem running anything on high, they're the fastest GPU in existence and you can't find faster unless you got for multi-chip solutions like SLI or a GTX 690 (which is SLI on a single card).

    Warfighter hasn't been released yet, so you might find learning which graphics options it has is a challenge, let alone estimating how much performance they'll require but unless it gets delayed with a couple of years any high end card now isn't going to struggle to run it well.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  8. oddball123

    oddball123
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    91
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Endlesswaves your a true star i think we'll just try the GTX 670 for know until we get a bit more clued up and then go from there ,thanks again for all your advice nice to see that there's still true people on hand cheers Shaun
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice