Question ALBA TRDAB2822 TRANSFORMER - HOT

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by al up north, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. al up north

    al up north
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Denbigh
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the radio above, it does its job BUT the transformer in standby hums and gets very warm. I would never leave it on unattended. So a simple question, any ideas? is there a better replacement one. Physically its 42mm wide. Too good to scrap but not good enough to spend much on. Or if you can tell me output wattage I'll trawl the interweb.
     
  2. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    I assume you by "transformer" you mean AC to DC power supply (often called a "wallwart").
    It should have a label on it stating its DC output voltage and wattage in watts or VA (or output current capability in amps or milliamps) along with an indication of the correct polarity - most commonly centre-pin positive.
    It may also state the required current and voltage on the DC power input socket of the radio.
    The hum probably indicates that the transformer laminates are vibrating.
     
  3. al up north

    al up north
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Denbigh
    Ratings:
    +0
    No thats too easy, its an internal one, old type as in metal frame and visible coils. All it says - LVV412001 - 230V - FUSE125 DEGREES C. Seems to be 12v coming out BUT wattage?
     
  4. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    So does it have an external DC input socket as well or not ?
    The markings you quote indicate a transformer with embedded fusible (thermal) link - which is obviously not blown or else it would go open circuit and stop working.
    You would need a replacement one with the same VA rating.
    Since the windings are visible, you might be able to drizzle some melted beeswax in there which could stop or lessen the vibration.
    The user manual should state the power drawn in its specifications area.
     
  5. al up north

    al up north
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Denbigh
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for the slow response, we are without a phoneline and EE's dongle can have a mind of its own. No DC input socket. Thanks for your help anyway. Its now in bits and slowly edging toward the bin. I could put it together again but the heat and buzzing are a real fire concern. Shame really. If a little 12vac 1amp transformer should appear it might get a second chance. Again Thanks.
     
  6. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763

Share This Page

Loading...