1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

alba rdvd 1002

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by gordon115, Oct 25, 2005.

1. gordon115

gordon115

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Argos are selling these dvd recorders at £80.
    All I want one for is to stand it alone and copy my Sony camcorder tapes onto dvd. Can I do this using the av inputs and the lead provided with the camcorder?
    Can i do the same using my digital camera? Also can I use DVD+R to record on?
    Sorry if I sound a bit thick but I'm new to all this Thanks

2. jjames

jjames

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes there is no reason why you can't do this.

I don't think this particular unit has DV inputs but you will be able to connect the white/red/yellow phono inputs into the front of the Alba no problem.

You don't mention the type of camcorder you have. If it's a digital one you might be better served with a DVD recorder with DV input (slightly better picture/sound quality)) but the Alba will serve its purpose perfectly well.

As for the digital camera, I'm not sure how exactly you'd be wanting to connect this. Do you have movie clips on the camera you want transferring to DVD? If so, then yes, these will transfer across (although it might be better to do this on a PC). If it's pictures, then no it will not copy the individual JPGs over, you'll need a PC burner for that (CD burner's fine, pictures don't take up too much space).

3. gordon115

gordon115

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    My camcorder is a digital one (Sony DCR-HC14 mini dv) the leads I use for transfering to VHS are the red/yellow/white ones you mention through a scart adaptor.
    As for the digital camera I want to only transfer still photos.I tried this in the same way as the camcorder to transfer to VHS and it worked.

4. lurcher