Aiwa Home Cinema - Please Help!!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by shaunoc1, Sep 19, 2002.

1. shaunoc1

shaunoc1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,
    Could someone please give me a bit of advice - and please forgive my ignorance, I am a newbie! I own a Sony DVP-535 player, and have recently been wanting to get a full dolby digital/dts system. In the shop, the salesman told me that in order to do this, I would have to buy a seperate receiver and speakers. He recommended that I instead buy a new all-in-one system. He showed me an Aiwa home cinema system (of which I have read positive reviews). There are two issues I'm wondering about, though:

My television has no S-Video connection, but 2 scarts (one RGB & 1 s-video). The Aiwa dvd player has no Scart output. However, the salesman told me that the video-out (I think they're composite or something?) can be fed into the Scart via a special, inexpensive cable. He said the quality was as good as a pure RGB or S-Video signal. Is this true?

Also, the multi-region upgrade is not to "chip" it (as I did with my last player) but to have an engineer put some sort of disc into it and configure it to play all regions. So after this, the player will detect the region of the disc and change it's own region accordingly. But isn't this exactly the kind of system that Enhanced Regional Coding discs can detect and block?

Thanks for your time,

Shaunoc1

2. Greg Hook

Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +10,337
    Hi

What kind of budget do you have?

These all in one systems are ok if you are on a tight budget but if you can stretch it a bit a amp and speakers system would be much better.

Do you have the model number of this Aiwa system?

I will let someone with some expertise answer the cable question. It seems strange for the DVD player to not have a scart socket.

Greg