1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ai

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by Peter Shilton, Jul 6, 2002.

  1. Peter Shilton

    Peter Shilton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just tried to watch AI on my toshiba SD220E and it freezes at the flesh fair.

    Is this the layer change or a fault. It is a blockbuster rental copy

    (I have tried to search the forum to see if this has been asked before but AI is only 2 letters and it wont search!!!)
     
  2. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it pauses momentarily and then continues then it is probably just the layer change.
     
  3. PeterL

    PeterL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Peter

    I can't remember what firmware you said you have on your SD220. If you have v1.4 or later the previous branching bug should be fixed but this could be something else. But then as Squirrel says, if it is only a momentary freeze then you sometimes get this. Might be worth getting another copy from Blockbuster and trying that. Has anyone else had this?

    PeterL
     
  4. kevb

    kevb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,099
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    About
    Ratings:
    +3
    During the Flesh Fair I think is where the layer change is for sure.

    A friend of mine had trouble with a rental copy of A.I. on his Samsung 709. It was at that point the film locked up. Just as the crowd start throwing stuff at the owner of the flesh fair.

    It appeared to by the player over heating at the time as it played the scene from cold the next day.

    Could possibly be a batch of ruff disks that went out. Or possible the firmware as mentioned in the privous post. I don't know how to check the firmware version on a toshiba, so If you have the matrix try playing that if it's ok so is your firmware.
     
  5. PeterL

    PeterL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Ratings:
    +0
    To check the firmware on a Toshiba SD220 you need to use the following key presses on the remote:

    zoom, 6, 0, 6, zoom

    Hope this helps,
    PeterL
     
  6. Peter Shilton

    Peter Shilton
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried playing it on my PS2 to see if it was the disc or the player.

    it jumped and juddered aat the flesh fair, but not quite the same place ( about 15 secs different) then jumped 2 minutes or so.

    it turned out that it wasn't the layer change but a badly scratched DVD.

    Sorry for the false alarm.

    The Blockbuster people gave me a credit, no problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...