AGP Card w/HDMI?

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by Tomo, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. Tomo

    Tomo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medway
    Ratings:
    +5
    I've got an old PC i want to use for mkv Playback.

    The PC its Self is P4 3Ghz/1mb cache
    1gb Ram Dual channel


    I'm looking for a cheap AGP card that with support HDMI with Audio over HDMI
    i've heard that the ATI cards do?

    thanks
     
  2. Clunk

    Clunk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +446
    We were looking at this a while back. I'm pretty sure that we came to the conclusion that whilst many of the PCI-E cards, particularly the ATI HD 2*** and 3*** support sound through HDMI, the AGP versions don't, sadly.

    I think your sound will need to be fed separately. :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  3. Tomo

    Tomo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medway
    Ratings:
    +5
    Doh!!!

    You would think they would have some sort of dongle that you plugged your audio into the HDMI or something :(
     
  4. Clunk

    Clunk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +446
    I guess it's just felt that using HDMI suggests wanting to view a lot of HD media, which really needs a more modern processor (high end P4/Athlon 64 or multi-core), and would therefore be on a PCI-E based motherboard.

    Of course there are exceptions, so yes a dongle would be useful. There may be something out there, but I've had no cause to look sorry. Good luck!
     
  5. sloany1979

    sloany1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ayr
    Ratings:
    +33
  6. Clunk

    Clunk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +446
    The spec says it does, but it's not uncommon for them to blindly copy bits of the PCI-E card spec. I just tried to find the card on the ASUS website with that product code, and it came up with details of the PCI-E version. But the picture was of an AGP card! So I was left even more confused...

    Unless sloany has first hand experience, I'd advise contacting Asus to check that before buying. Good news if it does!
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  7. sloany1979

    sloany1979
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Ayr
    Ratings:
    +33
  8. Tomo

    Tomo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Messages:
    148
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Medway
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have emailed them will let you guys know how i get on.

    thanks
     
  9. Tamildv

    Tamildv
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Asus AH3650 AGP – and able to get sound over HDMI.

    But be warned it took some work - the drivers that the card came with did not work – you have to download the AGP hotfix and then make sure that you set the sound on the ATI card as default (rather than the sound card etc).
     
  10. cdldt

    cdldt
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    652
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +58
    I used to have a Radeon HD 2400 Pro AGP, and it did have a HD Audio sound device for HDMI audio. Unfortunately, as soon as the drivers for this were installed the CPU usage would shoot up due to it creating an interrupt problem. Some motherboards are probably okay with it, but my Epox board was not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...