1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

After 6 years... Goodbye Vodafone (phone branding)

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by ~Kev H~, Jun 13, 2005.

  1. ~Kev H~

    ~Kev H~
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant beleive it has come to this.. after waiting what seemed like forever for Vodafone to release the K750i I have played with the phone for a week, realised how badly the branding affects the phone, told them I wanted the branding removed or an un-branded phone (to which they said they could do nothing), and now parcelforce are coming in the morning to collect the phone and I will be writing to them to terminate my contract this week.

    I just want to have a little rant and say that Vodafone, you are RUBBISH, to lose a customer over something like this, and to force upon them phones which have been altered to be nothing more than a badly disguised money making scam is disgraceful.

    The branding on the phone meant that the menu screen had all been changed and the locations altered (so that vodafone Live! would connect given just about any accidental keypress), MP3 ringtones had been DISABLED ( :eek: ) the phone only being capable of playing "licenced" mp3's from the vodafone website (that you've paid for), and what looked like some pretty decent Java games had been removed to be replaced by shoddy vodafone ones that were "Free trials" :thumbsdow

    Just be warned, if you think this sort of thing would annoy you, you might want to stay clear of Vodafone branded handsets in the future.

    Kev :(

    PS - I'm going to O2 online instead.
     
  2. Daddy k

    Daddy k

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,081
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    or if you must go with vodafone (cant think of a reason why you would) get your phone from phones for you, as they buy there own handsets for all networks and buy the mins from voda.
    so u usually get unbranded phone but voda sim pack
     
  3. yaserk99

    yaserk99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup:
    Same with www.e2save.com GREAT OFFERS TOO AND TRANSFER NUMBA :clap: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
     
  4. realslimcookie

    realslimcookie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    243
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    I was lucky, i upgraded from a Sharp GX20 (Branded heavily - vodafone bits everywhere on it) to a Samsung D500 (No branded bits anywhere). Vodafone sent me the phone and it is unlocked to any network as i have had my Orange sim card working in it with no probs. I hate it when the phone companies modify the software on it. Orange do it alot as well with their contract phones.

    Realslimcookie.
     
  5. betamac

    betamac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got The K750i on O2

    No branding atall and not even locked, O2 defo got it right for me.
     
  6. Throttle

    Throttle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,824
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Leigh
    Ratings:
    +107
    Thanks for the info i was looking at getting a k750i on vodafone aswell :eek:.
    o2 doesnt look too bad with there o2 site you can get £30 per month either 300mins 50 txt and 1mb net usage or 200mins 500txt and 1mb net usage that comes with free k750i and a se bluetooth headset :).
    Does anyone know if www.livetelecoms.com are any good as i was tempted just buy one as there £235 delivered :eek:
     
  7. SanPedro

    SanPedro
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    4,527
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +511
    Very timely thread for me...

    I've just got 2 x 750is on order through one of my clients who are a telecoms company. They have to be on Vodaphone network as it's the only one that works where I Live. I will definitely be checking with my contact that they are unbranded handsets.

    Chris
     
  8. steve36

    steve36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    965
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +33
    I had no major problems with LIVE telecoms apart from a minor problem with number porting but it was soon cleared up, I think that confusion extended my contract by a couple of weeks.
    When I joined they sent me the contract and I was able to fax it back to them to connect, I've heard of at least one company that sends contracts out and will not send the phone until it receives the signed contract back.

    I've found that for the first couple of weeks of launch Livetelecom often are the cheapest.

    Steve
     
  9. vickylin

    vickylin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    correct me if I'm wrong, but I though we could 'unbrand' the phone ourselves? at least on the "Vodafone Live hot key" and the java games? (also the theme/operator logo/wallpaper...etc)
     
  10. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,144
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +17
    If you got hold of the right cable from the internet, Im sure you could remove the vodaphone bits. Just reflash the firmware with an unedited version.... But I have no idea how easy this would be....
     
  11. AFC

    AFC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Vodafone branded K750i and downloaded some software to convert MP3 files to a format whereby my phone can now use these MP3's as ringtones and alarm signals etc.

    Check out this thread for more info
    http://www.esato.com/board/viewtopic.php?topic=78791&forum=2

    I have a copy of the sofware if anyone is interested. It took me less than 10 minutes to install and convert my first file which was a 6mb MP3
     
  12. Hill1

    Hill1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    east kent
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've just tried that with my SE S700i, and it works.
    Thanks for that info
     

Share This Page

Loading...