aerial feeds to twin tuner PVR

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by 68Eddie, May 3, 2007.

Tags:
  1. 68Eddie

    68Eddie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm considering buying a Topfield PVR as an alternative to Sky+, as i have 2 tv's with inbuilt digital tuners, will i need an amplifier or twin aerials to feed the potential four tuners? I realise this depends on location so I am not looking for a definitive answer, i am more interested in what people with twin tuner PVR's and or other tuners are using. Thanks in advance. D
     
  2. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    I have 2 Topfields running off an ancient aerial with a dodgy downlead and just a cheapo passive splitter. Perfect reception. Other people spend a fortune and still have problems it is just down to location. :)
     
  3. yetanotherbob

    yetanotherbob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    637
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +55
    I use an SLX Gold 8 Way distribution booster, which I picked up for around £20 new on ebay, and feed 2 Plasmas 1 CRT 2 Hummies and 1 (X2) Toppy

    I've got a pretty good signal to start with but have a great pic on everything and it doesn't seem to introduce any interference at all ( everything showing 75-80% strength and 100% quality) :smashin:

    I would advocate making sure that you use decent quality cable (CT100) for all your cables though

    Bob
     
  4. FrankS

    FrankS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    422
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    I just use the short loop thru cable on my Toppy works great, but it's good that they give you the option to split the signal coming in, this way if you are in a weak signal area you have a choice.
     
  5. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,785
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,190
    I have a loft aerial being fed through four tuners (Inverto IDL-7000 and Thomson DHD4000). No problems and no loss in signal quality.
     
  6. 12 promises

    12 promises
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,555
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +119
    i have a loft aerial from b&q which goes into a 4 out splitter and feeds a humax 8000t, a humax fox 200 an inverto idl 7000t and a hitachi plasma with digital and terrestial tuners.

    works a treat!!! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...