1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Aego2 Owners - Advice please!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by chez, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    I have just ordered some Acoustic Energy Aego2's for my PC, which are being delivered tomorrow.

    My only question is what wires come supplied with it? I don't want to get the speakers tomorrow and not be able to use them straight away!!

    I know the inputs on the back are phono plugs, so I presume the lead that comes with it is a phono-phono lead rather than the 3.5mm plug-phono lead that I will need to connect it to a PC soundcard?

    Thanks
    Chez
     
  2. gaz.thomas

    gaz.thomas
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +0
    The cable supplied with the p5 are reasonable quality (42strand I think) terminated with single rca phonos. These cables connect the satellite speakers to the sub/amp. I believe you would need to provide a single 3.5mm stereo to two rca phonos to run the speakers. You can pick one of these up from any high street electronics store or a hifi specialist if you want a better quality lead.

    The manual is available in pdf format from:
    http://www.acoustic-energy.com/products/aego/aego2manual.pdf
    If you want to get an idea of what you're getting.

    Hope that helped

    Gaz
    -x-

    BTW there's also a stereo jack on the front of the sub :)
     
  3. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    Thanks Gaz!!

    :)
     
  4. gaz.thomas

    gaz.thomas
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    58
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you got them all rigged up yet - how're they sounding?
     
  5. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    They came about an hour ago - all set up in the study.

    My computer sounds good!!

    Very, very nice little speakers

    I don't think I'll be replacing my main stereo's speakers with them, but I may well have to get another pair for my bedroom!

    I'd have been happy with them if I'd spent a lot more than £100 on them!
     
  6. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    and they came with a selection of leads - so I didn't have to buy one!

    I got a phono-phono lead, a 3.5mm-phono lead and a 3.5mm-3.5mm lead.

    And wall brackets - what a great little package for £100 - can't go wrong!
     
  7. Art Vanderlay

    Art Vanderlay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do your speakers hiss when there is no sound going into the Aego2?

    I have an Aego2 with an extra centre speaker as my front 3 speakers in my Home Cinema set up. The left and right speakers hiss with no input, and the centre has a hiss and a slight hum. This is particularly irritating when listening to stereo sources as there is no sound going through the centre to drown it out.

    I thought at first that it might be due to ground loop hum but I ruled this out.

    I understand that the Aego5 system had a similar problem which was solved by a power supply mod - moving the transfomer outside the case.

    I am sending my sub back to AE so hoefully they will solve the problem for me.
     
  8. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    it does have a very slight hiss if you put the volume above half way, which is slightly annoying!
     

Share This Page

Loading...