Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Aego2 Owners - Advice please!!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by chez, Jul 10, 2003.

  1. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    I have just ordered some Acoustic Energy Aego2's for my PC, which are being delivered tomorrow.

    My only question is what wires come supplied with it? I don't want to get the speakers tomorrow and not be able to use them straight away!!

    I know the inputs on the back are phono plugs, so I presume the lead that comes with it is a phono-phono lead rather than the 3.5mm plug-phono lead that I will need to connect it to a PC soundcard?

    Thanks
    Chez
     
  2. gaz.thomas

    gaz.thomas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +0
    The cable supplied with the p5 are reasonable quality (42strand I think) terminated with single rca phonos. These cables connect the satellite speakers to the sub/amp. I believe you would need to provide a single 3.5mm stereo to two rca phonos to run the speakers. You can pick one of these up from any high street electronics store or a hifi specialist if you want a better quality lead.

    The manual is available in pdf format from:
    http://www.acoustic-energy.com/products/aego/aego2manual.pdf
    If you want to get an idea of what you're getting.

    Hope that helped

    Gaz
    -x-

    BTW there's also a stereo jack on the front of the sub :)
     
  3. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    Thanks Gaz!!

    :)
     
  4. gaz.thomas

    gaz.thomas
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Worcestershire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you got them all rigged up yet - how're they sounding?
     
  5. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    They came about an hour ago - all set up in the study.

    My computer sounds good!!

    Very, very nice little speakers

    I don't think I'll be replacing my main stereo's speakers with them, but I may well have to get another pair for my bedroom!

    I'd have been happy with them if I'd spent a lot more than £100 on them!
     
  6. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    and they came with a selection of leads - so I didn't have to buy one!

    I got a phono-phono lead, a 3.5mm-phono lead and a 3.5mm-3.5mm lead.

    And wall brackets - what a great little package for £100 - can't go wrong!
     
  7. Art Vanderlay

    Art Vanderlay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do your speakers hiss when there is no sound going into the Aego2?

    I have an Aego2 with an extra centre speaker as my front 3 speakers in my Home Cinema set up. The left and right speakers hiss with no input, and the centre has a hiss and a slight hum. This is particularly irritating when listening to stereo sources as there is no sound going through the centre to drown it out.

    I thought at first that it might be due to ground loop hum but I ruled this out.

    I understand that the Aego5 system had a similar problem which was solved by a power supply mod - moving the transfomer outside the case.

    I am sending my sub back to AE so hoefully they will solve the problem for me.
     
  8. chez

    chez
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    it does have a very slight hiss if you put the volume above half way, which is slightly annoying!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice