1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AE900, Z4, TX200, TW600 Side by Side Comparison

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Anim, Sep 21, 2005.

  1. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    I just created a new article comparing these projectors side by side if anybody is interested in viewing it.

    Link direct to article here

    Ta
    Anim
     
  2. dapex

    dapex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    thats great. I will keep that bookmarked if you are going to keep it updated. Not sure if it is a page problem btw but the epson stuff is impossible to read cus you have other txt over the top of it.

    Cheers
     
  3. Boftas

    Boftas
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I saw in the list that you put Scart = No on Panasonic PT-Ae900. In Europe it will have Scart.

    /Peter
     
  4. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've updated the AE900 to include Scart.

    Dont know why you have an issue with the layout dapex. Im using IE6 and FireFox to view the pages and it seems ok for me. What browser are you using?

    I keep it updated as much as I can, mostly try to add a few things each day when i browse the net.

    Anim
     
  5. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    I have also read somewhere that the AE900 can do contrast ration 7000:1 in Vivid mode and also read in another article that the Z4 is 5000:1 not 7000:1 but Im sure these will get cleared up when the reviews start appearing.

    Anim
     
  6. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    I see same thing - IE6...PJ :)
     
  7. dapex

    dapex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    ie6.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +485
    I'm using IE6 on WinNT sp6, if that's of any interest, and I see text all over the last column making it unreadable.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  9. gingercat

    gingercat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    Ratings:
    +26
    For those with viewing problems, either make your window wider and the right pane will no longer overlap, or make the window narrower, and the right pane will appear above the crucial table.
     
  10. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    :smashin:
     
  11. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +485
    Doh! Wouldn't have happened on my widescreen laptop, but am stuck at work at the moment with my crappy old computer and it's 4x3 CRT monitor.

    Regards

    Mark
     
  12. monopole

    monopole
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're using firefox, install the web-developer extension and temporarily disable the styles to see the table clearly.

    Maybe the div containing the table could have a z index to place it above the right hand div...?
     
  13. scumball

    scumball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Harrow - London
    Ratings:
    +411
    I bet the European 900 model won't have 2 Component inputs...just one and the scart.
     
  14. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,885
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +935
    Its a shame they dont drop one of these and have another HDMI or a DVI, imo.
     
  15. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Anybody seen a European model yet? Would be nice for a few screen shots i suppose.

    Anim
     
  16. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    I've just noticed that the Z3 and Z4 use the same W bulb. Does that mean all you free bulb users from the Z3 deals can sell that spare bulb and save even more money or use it in a Z4. Im still on my AE100 and havent replaced the bulb!
     
  17. calibos

    calibos
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +33
    Anyone know what the 'confirmed' rated life is for the bulbs in the new AE900 in low and high lamp mode. I think I read 2700hrs in high lamp mode with the chance of slightly more if using the dynamic brightness thingie. No mention of low lamp mode though which is what I would run mine in (along with high fan @ 24db woohoo!! to achieve my runtimes of 10000hrs in 2.5 years! LOL )

    Can we extrapolate that if the bulb lasts 2700+ hours in high lamp that it should do nearly 6000 hours in low lamp? Why has the low lamp figure not been quoted I wonder??

    On a sidenote, I am about 200hours away from the magic 10,000 hours on my Ae300. Unfortunately or Fortunately depending on your or my point of view, my Ae300 still looks great to my eyes with no panel burn/heat staining and little noticable decrease in brightness to my eyes undoubtably down to few on/off cycles due to long runtimes and low lamp/high fan.

    Therein lies my problem. I want to upgrade but can't seem to bring myself to junk a perfectly good Ae300!! :D

    My current plan which I suppose is a win win situation is not to replace my current bulb at 5000hours but to merely reset the counter with the current bulb still in situ, and see how many more hours I can get out of it. (Still plenty bright to my eyes) If it dies silently after getting a few more hours out of it then I will repeat the process with my old first 5000hour bulb that I still have in a box and see how much extra I get out of that. If they both go silently with a few more hours in the bag then great. If one or both go explosively taking the PJ with them then also great. I now have an excuse to get an Ae900!! :D
     
  18. jriihi

    jriihi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Heh is that confirmed that 22db in low lamp mode for AE900?
     
  19. BOKERON001

    BOKERON001
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Somebody knows as it will be the price of the different lamps? :rolleyes:

    Regards

    Pd. Hello everybody, it´s my first post here :hiya:
     
  20. DEANO-B

    DEANO-B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Calibos :hiya: Nice to see someone else actually using their PJ. I've clocked 3850 hours on my AE700 in 11 and a half months and bought a replacemt bulb for £92 :D I'm going to go down the route of keeping the old bulb in, reset the hours when it goes off at 5000 hours and see how much I can get out of it! :D

    P.S. Don't you just hate these people who have a PJ for 3 years and have 50 hours on the lamp!! :confused:
     
  21. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Quoted in a review

    Snip:

    Projector Noise:

    I can't recall the claim, but it has to be down around 22-23db - in full power mode. It is the quietest projector I have tested to date, quieter than the BenQ PE7700 and the Optoma H78DC3. Noise - is not an issue, period!
     
  22. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    Just to let you guys know, there is now a 10 page spec sheet up for the AE900 on the site.

    Will keep the page updated as I get more information for each pj.

    Anim
     
  23. calibos

    calibos
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    930
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +33
    Tell me about it! You wonder why they bothered with a PJ in the first place. I think a lot of people figure that if they use it too much they will lose the WOW factor. I mean I think I am a little like that with a lot of things ie. I find the novelty of a lot of things I buy wears off quite quickly. For some reason though, I still haven't lost the WOW factor with the PJ even with it being on 9 or 10 hours a day. Sure when I am just watching something on Discovery I'm not getting goosepimples but every time I stick in a new DVD and the 6.1 kicks in and the movie starts I seem to quietly giggle to myself like a kid, "holy s***, I'm watching this on a 7.5ft screen, muahahaha!" :D
     
  24. Anim

    Anim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +59
    LOL :thumbsup:

    I still get that excited feeling too then the other half will say (on queue) Can you turn it down a bit, I have a headache.

    Its a ritual.

    Anim
     
  25. paulmcp2403

    paulmcp2403
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,274
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +117
    DEANO B - where did you get an ae700 lamp for £92 ??????????
     
  26. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +67
    OOOOH I thought 'turn it down' was part of the standard DVD intro along with the Dolby/DTS sound demo. :)
     
  27. DEANO-B

    DEANO-B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ha ha! I knew this would come up! I was lucky enough to stumble upon it on Ebay. I had been looking for one for a few weeks and £235 was the cheapest I could find it for :D I had much trouble with the seller though and had to wait 4 weeks to get it. I've tried it though and it works fine and is definatley a new bulb :smashin: Now all I need to do is find another because I'll need one at the end of next year :rolleyes:

    P.S I also bought a new Black & Decker wallpaper stripper for 99p of him :thumbsup:
     
  28. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    Where does that fit into the AE700? :confused:
     
  29. Mark_a

    Mark_a
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +485
    It's difficult as it got a bit bent falling off the back of the lorry. :)

    Regards

    Mark
     
  30. DEANO-B

    DEANO-B
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +1
    I bought the bulb of a bloke off Ebay, and I also got the B&D wallpaper stripper stripper of him. Just saying I got a 2 good bargains :clap: . Makes a change as I usually get ripped off!
     

Share This Page

Loading...