1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AE700 works fine... except with Star Wars DVDs!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by joffonon, Oct 5, 2004.

1. joffonon

joffonon
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks to Ben, I got my AE700 yesterday. As a projector newbie, I have to say I'm so glad I plumped for this one, as the out-of-the-box quality is just stunning. :thumbsup: No dead pixels, no vertical banding to my eye, and certainly no screendoor. I tweaked the flicker settings on the service menu after it had been running for an hour or so, but only minor adjustment was required (no more than one or two notches up or down on each colour adjustment).

But, I have a problem that's annoying; naturally, the first DVD I tried out was Star Wars (Region 1), from a cheap-and-cheerful Sony DVP-NS305 player, whose RGB SCART output works perfectly on my 32" TV. The menu screens look fine, but as soon as I start the film itself there is flickering horizontal interference that renders it unwatchable. Go back to the menu screens, and all is well again. The same is true of the other two films in that set. The other Region 1 DVD I had to hand worked fine (THX-1138), as did a Region 2 DVD (a Doctor Who disc) and the RGB SCART output of a Sky+ box. I couldn't test any more discs as they're piled up elsewhere in the house awaiting shelving to be fitted this week!

The problem goes away if I change the DVD player's SCART output to 'Video' (I'm guessing composite), but obviously the picture isn't quite as good as RGB (though still watchable).