1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AE700 remote control sensor is only on front of unit?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by tjobbins, Jan 1, 2005.

  1. tjobbins

    tjobbins
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Harpenden
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    I had a look at the manual for the AE700 and noticed that there only seems to be a remote control sensor on the front of the unit.

    How does this work out when the projector is situated in front of you? Do you have to bounce the signal off a wall?


    Thanks


    Tom
     
  2. PJTX100

    PJTX100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    8,129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +562
    Think you'll find you can point it virtually anywhere and it will work fine, TX100 remote sensor is similarly placed and I sit behind it, pointing the remote at the screen always seems to work. Presume it bounces around...PJ
     
  3. Bogeyed

    Bogeyed
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Holmfirth,West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have my Z3 mounted above my viewing position,it also has a front remote sensor and works perfectly by pointing the remote control at the screen. It also seems to work ok by pointing it up towards the projector at a 90 degree angle so I guess they seem to be fairly tolerant of aiming position. The handbook mentions critical angles but I have had no problems so far. I would think the AE700 would act in a similar fashion.
     
  4. tjobbins

    tjobbins
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Harpenden
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys!
     
  5. Hal

    Hal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a panny ae700 pj. And it is celing mounted behined me. I just point the remote at the screen and it works fine, Never a proplem ...
     
  6. kballs

    kballs
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've actually seen many infrared remotes that work pointing almost anywhere in the room (opposite wall, ceiling, side wall, etc.) especially if the batteries are somewhat fresh. It doesn't matter if you change direction 180 degrees, it's not going to change polarity :) (even if it did change light polarity horizontal/vertical the sensors don't work this way)
     
  7. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    is the beam that comes out of an infra red zapper polarised?!?! surely not..... that would be crazy!
     
  8. jamesgrahamuk

    jamesgrahamuk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just point it at your screen.
     

Share This Page

Loading...